The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I make my web page show up from just the IP address?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Vatoloco, Jul 17, 2005.

  1. Vatoloco

    Vatoloco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If I go to http://55.55.555.55 it just shows the generic cpanel "There is no website configured at this address." How do I get my website to show up there instead? I've setup a reseller account that for mywebsite.com and I've got it all setup so that if I go to http://mywebsite.com that's working but how do I make just the IP point to that as well? I know I can go to http://55.55.555.55/~mylogin to get to it but I want this site to be the main one.
     
  2. ehpmahesh

    ehpmahesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    You have edit httpd.conf file to get result.
     
  3. nickb

    nickb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    If the IP of mywebsite.com is 55.55.555.55 then make sure that entries for this website are written in first VirtualHost container.
     
  4. Vatoloco

    Vatoloco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks! That was my problem. I had an entry for my hostname first. I didn't know the order was important.
     
  5. cheaphostz.net

    cheaphostz.net Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What is the entry?

    What is the entry to put in httpd.conf?

    I put

    NameVirtualHost cheaphostz.net:80

    Did I do this wrong, I assume so because it didn't work.

    Regards

    Dave
     
  6. nickb

    nickb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Change you line from NameVirtualHost cheaphostz.net:80 to >>
    Code:
    [SIZE=3]NameVirtualHost [I]IP-of-cheaphostz.net[/I]:80[/SIZE]
     
  7. cheaphostz.net

    cheaphostz.net Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    NameVirtualHost

    That's Excellent, it works a treat, Many Thanx. Dave :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page