The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I point CPanel account to specific file folder for a domain and set up new domains?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mike Santner, Nov 7, 2014.

1. Mike Santner

Mike Santner Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey guys, noob here on CPanel who inherited server admin from a prior inexperienced CPanel user, and I have a handful of sites on a GoDaddy virtual private server.

1. I have 4 domains, a CPanel account set up for 2 of them already, pointing to live directories of site files. MAINSITE.COM and NONPROFIT1.COM

2. MAINSITE.COM and NONPROFIT1.COM are set up to point to live sites and work great.

3. A 3rd live site, NONPROFIT2.COM, is set up as an "ADD-ON" Domain under MAINSITE.COM, not sure why.

4. The 4th site, WINERY.COM, that needs to go live, has an account, but it's not pointing to anything yet.

5. Better to have separate account for each domain, instead of add-ons?

6. How do I change what directory a CPanel account's domain points to? I am doing new versions of every site domain with all new files.

5. How do I set up a new account for a new domain with a new directory of files?

I sincerely appreciate any assistance navigating the menus or links that walk me through. Simple enough? :)

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    #4 Not sure what that means or if its even a question.

#5 If you're managing them all, setting them up as Addon domains makes things a bit easier for you. Login once and manage them all.