The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I receive notifications regarding undeliverable emails?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by MrsBee, Apr 6, 2011.

1. MrsBee

MrsBee Member

Hi everyone,

I am a Linux administrator noob and would like to know how I can set up my server to send me an email every time the server deals with an undeliverable email going through its SMTP server.

I know that I am able to view these messages in WHM > Email > View Mail Statistics > List of Errors, however in the past (on other servers as an end user, not as an administrator) I have automatically received an email in Outlook Express whenever the server has been unable to deliver an email - for example, I would get an instant email if the recipient address was a total dud, or I would get periodical emails every 4 hours or so if the recipient address was valid but delayed for whatever reason.

I could really do with these bounceback/undeliverable emails being emailed directly into my Outlook Express, instead of just being stored in the above List of Errors section (that section seems to hold a maximum of 300 reports and so is no good when I suspect I might be dealing with over 1,000 bouncebacks).

I hope I have explained things clearly enough. I would really appreciate any help that any of you guys could give me :)

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In: WHM > Server Configuration > Basic cPanel & WHM Setup, set your Contact Information correctly.
    In: WHM > Server Contacts > Change System Mail Preferences, you can add an off server email address to these sections.
    In: WHM > Server Contacts > Contact Manager, select Low for Priority, and you'll be contactd by the server for all listed events.

3. MrsBee

MrsBee Member