The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I remove an active account showing an IP address? Pls help...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pinoypool, Nov 30, 2003.

  1. pinoypool

    pinoypool Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello everybody,

    In WHM under Account Functions -> Show Active and Inactive Accounts, I get this list:

    Active Domains
    firstdomain.com
    69.56.234.92
    seconddomain.com
    thirddomain.com
    localhost.localdomain
    fourthdomain.com

    The 69.56.234.92 is an IP address. How did it get there? How do I remove it? I looked all over WHM and I couldn't find any option that will remove this IP from the Active Domains.

    My webhost is not helping me or perhaps they're just as confused as I am :)

    Can anyone please help me. I need to remove that IP because I need to use it. Right now, it's unusable. I cannot assign that IP to any new account.

    Thanks for your help.

    Regards,
    Chris
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    If you click on "terminate an account", does it show that IP as one of the accounts?
     
  3. pinoypool

    pinoypool Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No, the IP doesn't show up anywhere except in
    Account Functions -> Show Active and Inactive Accounts. I've tried ALL links (options) available in WHM and it only shows up on the link above. Weird...
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    That IP must be listed in a file somewhere that keeps that information. You may have to delete it from that file, but I don't know which one it is. Does anyone know?

    You could search for a file that contains the IP. I'll see if I can find out which file it might be.
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    May not help, but I noticed the link to "Make Inactive Domains Active" apparantly rebuilds the httpd.conf file. Maybe the "Show Active and Inactive Accounts" reads that file. I'd take a look at the httpd.conf file and see if there is something in there related to that IP.
     
  6. pinoypool

    pinoypool Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks squirrel. I took a look at httpd.conf and here's what I found that's related to the 69.56.234.92 IP:


    NameVirtualHost 69.56.234.92:80

    <VirtualHost 69.56.234.92>
    BytesLog domlogs/69.56.234.92-bytes_log
    ServerName 69.56.234.92
    ServerAdmin root@localhost
    DocumentRoot /dev/null
    ScriptAliasMatch .* /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/domainredirect.cgi
    </VirtualHost>


    I compared it to another account that's valid and the entry for that account looks like this:


    NameVirtualHost 69.56.234.94:80

    <VirtualHost 69.56.234.94>
    ServerAlias www.firstdomain.com firstdomain.com
    ServerAdmin webmaster@firstdomain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/firstdom/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/firstdomain.com-bytes_log
    ServerName www.firstdomain.com
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/firstdom/public_html/cgi-bin/
    User firstdom
    Group firstdom
    CustomLog domlogs/firstdomain.com combined
    </VirtualHost>


    Based on this. Do you have any ideas or suggestions as to what I need to do next? Also, based on the above, does it give you an idea how the IP account got created? I don't believe I did that but I could be wrong.

    Thanks.
     
  7. pinoypool

    pinoypool Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I removed the Virtual host setting for IP 69.56.234.92 from httpd.conf and it seems to be ok now. When I go to IP Functions -> Rebuild the IP Address Pool. I am now getting this message:


    Please wait while I rebuild your ipaddrpool
    Your main ip is 69.56.234.90
    [172.16.209.94] [69.56.234.94] [69.56.234.93] [69.56.234.91]
    Opening Ip Address Pool....Done
    Wrote New Pool!

    Found 1 free ips. /etc/ipaddrpool has been updated


    I tried creating a new account and assigned an IP and it is able to use the .92 IP now.

    I just hope I didn't mess anything up by removing it from httpd.conf.

    Thanks squirrel! You're a big help... I really appreciate that.

    Regards,
    Chris
     
  8. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    No problem. Glad it worked.
     
Loading...

Share This Page