Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How do I setup Spam assassin for rbl checks?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by roskopfj, Feb 27, 2005.

  1. roskopfj

    roskopfj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Can I put my list of rbl's (bl.spamcop.net, etc etc) right into the blacklist_from fields, or is that only for specific addresses? I don't understand where I'm supposed to put the rbl addresses.

    Thanks
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    As far as i know, spamassassin already has a list of DNSBL's and uses those by default. The best place to go for further info would be the spamassassin web site.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    I believe that spamcop is not enabled by default (check with the spamassassin site)

    Try these examples for spamcop and spamhaus

    Code:
    skip_rbl_checks 0
    rbl_timeout 3
    score RCVD_IN_BL_SPAMCOP_NET 3
    score RCVD_IN_URIBL_SBL 3
    This sets any rbl blocked ips at the score 3 .. then the score will increase as per normal rules etc, this just makes any domains in the rbl more likely to be tagged as spam.

    REF: http://www.spamhaus.org/effective_filtering.html
     
  4. roskopfj

    roskopfj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thanks, thats what I was looking for.
     
  5. justjames

    justjames Registered

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    So where do you input this information? I'm a newbie to modifying spamassassin settings

    Thanks
    James
     
  6. justjames

    justjames Registered

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
     
  7. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That file is in /etc/mail/spamassassin/local.cf
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice