The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do i upload in forced binary mode?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by muncher, Nov 5, 2007.

  1. muncher

    muncher Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    the tital says it all, any sugestion on how to do it? im trying to upload my script of a php game but i am unable to because i dont no how to upload 2 little files in binary mode.:confused:
     
  2. muncher

    muncher Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    erm

    erm ftp client, all i got of FTP on my cpanel is FTP Manager which is basically jack shit, all i can do is make FTp accounts which is useless and other irrelevant stuff in that manager, i got no settings to upload in forced binary.

    got any idea's?
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You are using a FTP client to do this, correct? If so, please consult your FTP client's documentation.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Binary uploads is something set in the FTP client, not by the FTP server.
     
  5. muncher

    muncher Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    so how would i change tis settings to binary
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Somewhere in your FTP client should be a setting for transfer modes. Most FTP clients have the following settings: ASCII, Binary and Auto (Automatic). Set it to Binary to force a binary transfer.

    As FTP clients vary, you will need to refer to your FTP client's documentation if you need assistance with this.
     
  7. muncher

    muncher Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hmm

    I have a problem because i don't no where my FTP client is, as i have never heard of it (lol).
    could you tell me where it is and am i accessible to it?

    also tell me what it does other than uploading in different ways
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    FTP is merely a protocol for transferring files.

    A FTP Client is a program you download to use FTP for transferring files. If you are using Microsoft Windows(R), you may want to use FileZilla or CoreFTP. If you are on a Mac, you may want to use Cyberduck.

    Download a FTP client and install it. Then let cPanel/WHM automatically configure it for you. You can do this by logging into your cPanel 11 interface which has the X3 theme, going to FTP Accounts and at the bottom of the page in the Account Management section, next to the username which is your cPanel username, you will see 4 icons. Click the icon labeled "Configure FTP Client" then follow the on-screen instructions from there to configure your FTP client.

    That will allow you to connect to your web hosting provider's FTP server. You will need to refer to your FTP Client's documentation on how to force a binary transfer. Perhaps your web hosting provider could be of assistance regarding the issue.
     
  9. muncher

    muncher Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    erm you talk about windows or mac, im using a domain/web hoster how do i download extra interfaces straight to what you just said and how would i do it?


    the web hoster/domain is on linux i believe


    also where do i download from what you just said and where do i download it to?
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A FTP Client is something you run on your computer, not your web hosting provider's server.
     
  11. muncher

    muncher Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hmm

    so these 2 files i got to make !forced binary!

    "2B. Upload overheader.php and globals.ini in BINARY mode (make sure you do not use auto detect, this must be forced as BINARY)"

    where do i put them when i done it


    also how do i set them as forced binary?
     
    #11 muncher, Nov 5, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2007
  12. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Consult that PHP Application's documentation for the answer to that question. Typically it will be whatever directory you are installing that PHP application to.
     
  13. muncher

    muncher Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hmm

    how do i change a file to forced binary?


    i am using core FTP
     
    #13 muncher, Nov 5, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2007
  14. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You have to do that in your FTP client.
     
  15. muncher

    muncher Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hehe

    i got a FTP client its CORE FTP which i love it now i never knew that this was out, easier access.

    so how do i change some files to forced binary?
     
Loading...

Share This Page