The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How does cPanel intergrate with a website?

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by Boylett, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. Boylett

    Boylett Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello, I have a few questions about cPanel.

    If I have a website (running PHP), how will I be able to connect it to cPanel to automaticly set up webhost accounts? Do I have to handle payments myself, or does cPanel do that. And how is bandwidth, space, etc. handled. Are packages stored in cPanel or do I store them, then feed the info to cPanel when someone orders a package?

    Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you're setting up webhosting accounts, you will need access to WHM - either as the server owner or as a "reseller user."

    cPanel/WHM does not come with billing automation software, but many billing automation applications do work with cPanel/WHM such as those listed at: http://forums.cpanel.net/f77/third-party-applications-available-cpanel-whm-106785.html

    cPanel/WHM does handle the enforcement of bandwidth and disk consumption. Bandwidth is counted from the first day of the month until the first day of the next month. On the first day of a month, Bandwidth consumption is reset to 0. Disk consumption is for the overall disk space consumed by a hosting account, including mail.

    Packages are stored in cPanel/WHM. However, consult with the documentation for the billing automation software you use if you need to create these packages in their software or if it's okay to create these packages in WHM.
     
  3. Boylett

    Boylett Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have created billing automation software myself in the past, so that shouldn't be a problem. Can PHP read the packages that are set up in WHM to display them on a site? And can it be used on multiple servers without having to set up the same packages on each server over and over?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm going to move this discussion to our cPanel/WHM Developer Discussions where you'll be more likely to get answers to those questions.
     
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes and Yes to both of your questions ;)
     
  6. Boylett

    Boylett Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks that's all I need to know for now :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page