The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How many subdomains can cpanel handle when set to unlimited?

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by medianeer, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. medianeer

    medianeer Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I need to create over 250+ subdomains for a website and I was wondering if I'd run into any kind of problems by making the server handle this many subdomains. Also, some of the subdomains belong to parked domains, so I'd end up with about 250+ subdomains like this:

    sub1.mysite1.com
    sub2.mysite1.com
    sub3.mysite1.com

    sutb1.mysite2.com
    stub2.mysite2.com
    stub3.mysite2.com

    sutb1.mysite3.com
    stub2.mysite3.com
    stub3.mysite3.com

    where mysite1.com is the main domain in the account and mysite2.com and mysite3.com are parked domains.

    So far this works, but I don't know if this will cause a lot of stress to the server. Any comments? Anybody?

    One more thing... Is there a way to create multiple subdomains at the same time instead of one at the time?

    Thanks for any help!!
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    250 subdomains isn't a problem.

    As far as an easy way to do it, I think there was a post about that a while back but I'm not sure.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Apache only really starts complaining when you get into the thousands of virtualhost containers in httpd.conf so a few hundred won't be a problem as squirrel says. An alternative is to use a wildcard DNS with a wildcard ServerAlias and an appropriate .htaccess file at the top of the main domain which uses mod_rewrite to point any subdomain to its corresponding subdirectory within the main domains web root - to do that you'll need to research more, but it is defintiely possible to do.
     
  4. matsko

    matsko Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    does anyone have any tutorials and perhaps instructions on how to do this?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Have a search on Google for wildcard subdomain htaccess and you should get information enough from it there.
     
  6. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Or use mod_vhost_alias
    http://yourserverip/manual/mod/mod_vhost_alias.html

    Have no figures at hand, but .htaccess from tuning point of view would be degrading because of the stat() call ... not too sure on this though, but apache tuning guides always make a note of this.

    http://httpd.apache.org/docs/howto/htaccess.html

    but mod_vhost_alias would require more manual work as it would be outside of cpanel. I do use mod_vhost_alias and have a script which creates the directory on server, creates account in mysql database which is used by pure-ftp for auth in addition to cpanel's scheme of authentication etc... and this script is only accessible from authenticated user of a webmail account (not horde/imp or cpanel interfaces)

    Anup
     
    #6 anup123, May 3, 2005
    Last edited: May 3, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page