The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How many times do I need to rebuild Apache??

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by masood, Aug 3, 2002.

  1. masood

    masood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    [Sat Aug 3 12:17:20 2002] [warn] [csd] filedescriptor (1037) larger than FD_SETSIZE (1024) found, you probably need to rebuild Apache with a larger FD_SETSIZE

    I &probably need to rebuild Apache&?? :p How many times? I did that already two times. But this error continues.

    :-(((((((((((((((((((((
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What version of RedHat?
    what kernel?
    you included &raise hard server limit& in the apache build right?

    if this machine is pre RH 7.1 you'll need to upgrade the kernel to begin with, however.
     
  3. masood

    masood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Red Hat 7.3
    2.4.18-grsec-1.9.4
    Yes, I included &raise hard server limit&
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have never seen this occur on a 2.4 series kernel.
    Could it perhaps have something to do with the lovely grsecurity patch being added to the kernel?

    I wonder if that functionality prevents the server limit from peaking, or something long those lines....

    anybody have any thoughts on this?
    My experience with GRSecurity = leaves a bit to be desired.
    :p

    thanks!
     
  5. qlites

    qlites Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If I recall correctly, each child process is restricted to N_PROC. [ There is an option in grsecurity to enable this aswell, to enforce it that is ].
     

Share This Page