The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how many with sig11 error's after 1.3.26 upgrade

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shaun, Jun 28, 2002.

  1. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    How many of you are getting Sig 11 error's in your apache log after the new buildapache.sea upgrade? If your getting them specify what extra modules you have installed. So far it's looking to me like mod_gzip is causing this.

    specify modules liek mod_perl, asp, java, mod_gzip, etc.
     
  2. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have these modules on all of our servers withount any Sig 11 error

    Apache/1.3.26 (Unix) mod_bwprotect/0.2 mod_log_bytes/0.3 mod_bwlimited/1.0 mod_gzip/1.3.19.1a PHP/4.2.1 FrontPage/5.0.2.2510 mod_ssl/2.8.9 OpenSSL/0.9.6b
     
  3. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    i have all that modules, no sigs, but it seems to me that is more unstable then before. I get lot of mails from server that is crashed and started automagicly (2-3per day) - was once a week.
    What to check?
     
  4. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    shoun, you mean this?

    [Fri Jun 28 12:30:12 2002] [notice] child pid 2280 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)

    Oh, yes, that's new too :-(

    Ok, one more with sig11

    bye
     
  5. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Lots of trouble here, but only on our Redhat 6.2 server. Our 7.1 servers seem to be working fine after the upgrade. On our 6.2 server, Apache goes down every 2-3 hours now and we have to go in and manually reload httpd. I wish we had not upgraded on that server. Hind site is 20/20 vision.
     
  6. shannon

    shannon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Got them here too. Upgraded apache on the 26th, and low and behold, the & child pid 15817 exit signal Segmentation fault&'s started rolling in right after restart. 2,843 of them since. :(

    Our setup:

    Apache/1.3.26 (Unix) mod_bwprotect/0.2 mod_bwlimited/1.0 PHP/4.2.1 mod_log_bytes/0.3 FrontPage/5.0.2.2510 mod_ssl/2.8.9 OpenSSL/0.9.6b

    If anyone should happen to have an idea, I'm open to suggestions. ;)
     
  7. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Make sure you are not running mod_perl. This causes a lot of problems with Apache. Also, make sure your zendoptimizer is up to date /scripts/installzendopt.
     
  8. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    dave,

    hmm zend looks too be installed when i do a php -v but i will reinstall it and see if that makes a diffrence.
     
  9. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have like this:
    Apache/1.3.26 (Unix) mod_jk/1.2.0 mod_gzip/1.3.19.1a PHP/4.2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.0 DAV/1.0.2 mod_log_bytes/0.3 FrontPage/5.0.2.2510 mod_ssl/2.8.9 OpenSSL/0.9.6

    And after i disabled mod_perl, it seems like it's working as should...no more sig-s 11, for now



    will see if it holds, looks good 4 now
     
  10. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How do you disable mod_perl. Do you have to do it during Apache compile time?
     
  11. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:40bddb21fc][i:40bddb21fc]Originally posted by bmcpanel[/i:40bddb21fc]

    How do you disable mod_perl. Do you have to do it during Apache compile time?[/quote:40bddb21fc]
    Choose Beginner to install Buildapache.sea or in Advanced mode choose the right items
     
  12. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ok, that's nice, choose right items. Question is, what the right items are? There is no help, no documentation, no howto-s. Apache should be stable, this is allmost unusuble server. I have 500 clients on mine, i could not afford to experiment. Problem is that it dyes every few hours, do not know why, i did all things that i always do: wait for a few days after new buildapache.sea is issued, read forum, and upgrade it with ASP, frontpage, mod_gzip, Tomcat...offcourse i comented out mod_perl, that's it. What is wrong?

    BTW, is there gonna be buildIIS.sea port to linux out soon? It seems it's more stable than Apache :)))
     
  13. Brownie

    Brownie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:0ecce4b459][i:0ecce4b459]Originally posted by gemby[/i:0ecce4b459]
    BTW, is there gonna be buildIIS.sea port to linux out soon? It seems it's more stable than Apache :)))[/quote:0ecce4b459]

    IIS is only available for Windows Platforms....and theres a certain debate to its stability compared to Apache. For starters, apache doesnt have all the Security problems that IIS does (apart from the recently discovered apache flaw) - and all the modules for IIS execute more slowly than on apache (php, perl, etc)
     
  14. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:7163823e8d][i:7163823e8d]Originally posted by gemby[/i:7163823e8d]

    Ok, that's nice, choose right items. Question is, what the right items are? There is no help, no documentation, no howto-s. Apache should be stable, this is allmost unusuble server. I have 500 clients on mine, i could not afford to experiment. Problem is that it dyes every few hours, do not know why, i did all things that i always do: wait for a few days after new buildapache.sea is issued, read forum, and upgrade it with ASP, frontpage, mod_gzip, Tomcat...offcourse i comented out mod_perl, that's it. What is wrong?

    BTW, is there gonna be buildIIS.sea port to linux out soon? It seems it's more stable than Apache :)))[/quote:7163823e8d]
    IIS is a terrible, a disaster; tons of exploits & vulnerabilities are available for it, if you want to put yourself in trouble or want headaches you can choose it.

    Remove mod-asp & mod-perl modules from httpd.conf then reinstall Apache by using buildapache.sea then select Beginner these options should be installed there would be no problem after that .

    Apache/1.3.26 (Unix) mod_log_bytes/0.3 mod_bwlimited/1.0 mod_gzip/1.3.19.1a PHP/4.2.1 FrontPage/5.0.2.2510 mod_ssl/2.8.9 OpenSSL/0.9.6b

    *mod-gzip should be installed manually but if you had it before
    * use advanced to install mod_bwprotect
    it’s not necessary to reinstall mod-gzip
    If you still unsuccessful send me your root password I can do it as all of our other servers.
     
  15. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:8e33dbdc39][i:8e33dbdc39]Originally posted by bmcpanel[/i:8e33dbdc39]

    How do you disable mod_perl. Do you have to do it during Apache compile time?[/quote:8e33dbdc39]
    do not install mod-asp manually and choose Beginner during installation of buildapache.sea then you won't have mod_perl
     
  16. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Guys, that with buildIIS.sea was a joke :))) I know that is aviliabile only for M$ platform. Thanks for tips with building apache, ill try to build it right away once again, i disabled mod-perl and i'm gonna build it in beginner mode. I'll let you know what hepens. Thanks
     
  17. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Still no luck :))))

    In whm it say that is up and running, it gives out 404-s, and when i restarted it, it seems ok. But, i discovered that in error log says lot of this (tons of this exactly):

    [Sun Jun 30 06:49:27 2002] [warn] [csd] filedescriptor (1052) larger than FD_SETSIZE (1024) found, you probably need to rebuild Apache with a larger FD_SETSIZE

    Where to check? How big that must be? Where is it anyway?
     
  18. Djelibeybi

    Djelibeybi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Any one work out how to get mod_perl working? Like everyone else, if I enable it, I get SegFault 11's.
     
  19. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ok, Apache documentation says:

    Linux
    By default Linux has a kernel maximum of 256 open descriptors per process. There are several patches available for the 2.0.x series which raise this to 1024 and beyond, and you can find them in the &unofficial patches& section of the Linux Information HQ. None of these patches are perfect, and an entirely different approach is likely to be taken during the 2.1.x development. Applying these patches will raise the FD_SETSIZE used to compile all programs, and unless you rebuild all your libraries you should avoid running any other program with a soft descriptor limit above 256. As of this writing the patches available for increasing the number of descriptors do not take this into account. On a dedicated webserver you probably won't run into trouble.

    I disabled mod_gzip and Tomcat, and looks like it's stable now (it lasts 5 hours without breaking.

    Ok, since no one is using Tomcat, and it was enabled in previous build as well, and mod_gzip was not. i doubt that is mod gzip's fault. Here is my httpd.conf....load module section:

    #
    # Example:
    # LoadModule foo_module libexec/mod_foo.so
    # LoadModule python_module /usr/local/apache/libexec/mod_python.so
    LoadModule rewrite_module libexec/mod_rewrite.so
    LoadModule bytes_log_module libexec/mod_log_bytes.so
    LoadModule dav_module libexec/libdav.so
    LoadModule bwlimited_module libexec/mod_bwlimited.so
    LoadModule php4_module libexec/libphp4.so
    # LoadModule perl_module libexec/libperl.so
    # LoadModule gzip_module libexec/mod_gzip.so

    # Reconstruction of the complete module list from all available modules
    # (static and shared ones) to achieve correct module execution order.
    # [WHENEVER YOU CHANGE THE LOADMODULE SECTION ABOVE UPDATE THIS, TOO]
    ClearModuleList
    # AddModule mod_python.c
    AddModule mod_env.c
    AddModule mod_log_config.c
    AddModule mod_mime.c
    AddModule mod_negotiation.c
    AddModule mod_status.c
    AddModule mod_include.c
    AddModule mod_autoindex.c
    AddModule mod_dir.c
    AddModule mod_cgi.c
    AddModule mod_asis.c
    AddModule mod_imap.c
    AddModule mod_actions.c
    AddModule mod_userdir.c
    AddModule mod_alias.c
    AddModule mod_rewrite.c
    AddModule mod_access.c
    AddModule mod_auth.c
    AddModule mod_so.c
    AddModule mod_setenvif.c
    &IfDefine SSL&
    AddModule mod_ssl.c
    &/IfDefine&
    AddModule mod_frontpage.c
    AddModule mod_log_bytes.c
    AddModule mod_dav.c
    AddModule mod_bwlimited.c
    AddModule mod_php4.c
    # AddModule mod_perl.c
    AddModule mod_gzip.c

    &IfModule mod_gzip.c&
    mod_gzip_on yes
    mod_gzip_dechunk yes
    mod_gzip_keep_workfiles No
    mod_gzip_temp_dir /tmp
    mod_gzip_minimum_file_size 1002
    mod_gzip_maximum_file_size 0
    mod_gzip_maximum_inmem_size 1000000

    mod_gzip_item_include file \.htm$
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.html$
    mod_gzip_item_include mime text/.*
    mod_gzip_item_include file \.php$
    mod_gzip_item_include mime &jserv-servlet&
    mod_gzip_item_include handler &jserv-servlet&
    mod_gzip_item_include mime &application/x-httpd-php.*&
    mod_gzip_item_include mime httpd/unix-directory
    mod_gzip_item_exclude file &\.css$&
    mod_gzip_item_exclude file &\.js$&
    mod_gzip_item_exclude file &\.wml$&

    &/IfModule&

    Include &/usr/local/jakarta/jakarta-tomcat-4.0.3-src/build/conf/auto/mod_jk.conf&

    That,s about it, i do not know where to look for a answer, any tips?
     
  20. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ok, with that configuration (see above), we last (me and server) for 26 hours without carashing. Now i put Tomcat (i did not just uncoment - i &rebuild& it). And it seems fine. Ill let it work 4 day or two just to make shure that it works fine. Until then, please somebody help me with configuratin and compliling of mod_gzip, im new here :))))

    Stay tuned ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page