The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How much are you paying for your cpanel license?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sexy_guy, May 3, 2003.

  1. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone paying more then $10 a month? :D If you are you should start looking at other options. Get a server from Rackshack! With all the problem in cPanel i cant see paying more then 10bucks a month. Annette! HINT HINT!
     
    #1 sexy_guy, May 3, 2003
    Last edited: May 3, 2003
  2. N9ne

    N9ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    England
    I have my cPanel server at Rackshack too :)
     
  3. tmellon

    tmellon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    I get mine free with my sever :D And not at RackShack
     
  4. simplybe

    simplybe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    dedicated now are also doing them @ $10 with no extra setup like the rs servers.
     
  5. hostcp3

    hostcp3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I can sell you airconditiong and a new cd player with your new car for $2

    lol.

    Price is built in to the server, Rackshack are one of the best marketing machines I have seen on the net, good luck to them they are astute business people.

    but $25 setup fee for ips , sheesh.
     
  6. bmcclure

    bmcclure Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Racine, WI
    We host our own servers, so we are paying quite a bit more for CPanel. We purchase by the year, though.
     
  7. howtobeawebmaster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lake Arrowhead, CA.
    Dedicatednow.com is the way to go!

    I was with rackshack when I partnered with another hosting company, and we had tons of problems, even having to replace a 6 month old hard drive with them, which we had to pay for.

    Dedicatednow.com is much better and talk about fast and courteous service. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

    John Patrick
    www.howtobeawebmaster.com
     
  8. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Re: Dedicatednow.com is the way to go!

    Much rather go with a reliable company then some fly-by-night setup. Have you seen dedicated nows demo? It fails and judging by their forum posts there are not many happy users there. 2+ days to setup a server even more?
     
  9. Sash

    Sash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Buy your own servers colo them at DC near you. That way you have full control over just about everything, and the only person you can blame is yourself.

    I'd much rather depend on someone I train than some third rate tech.

    Mike
     
    #9 Sash, May 4, 2003
    Last edited: May 4, 2003
  10. jimcarter

    jimcarter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Re: Dedicatednow.com is the way to go!

    Actually my experience with dedicatednow has been excellent,
    You really shouldnt judge a business by what a few forum users post about them,
    I pre-ordered a server at the start with them and so the setup time was a little irrelevant, both of my other servers with them were setup within an hour, support is great and ive hardly ever noticed any downtime,
    Thanks :)
     
  11. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I agree totatally, that's one reason we have changed vendors. We are now with a very highend company and are doing a lease-2-own of our servers. No more of these mickey mouse $99 companies who's only cares are their pockets, and buying and putting in third rate network gear and servers etc...

    If you are truely serious about performance and reliabilty the only way to go is with either co-lo in a reliable DC or if using rented gear go with a vendor with good cisco network gear and namebrand servers. Yes will cost a fair bit more but you'll never be happier in the long run. As the old saying goes, you get what you pay for.
     
  12. Angel78

    Angel78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    45$ and Im happy with ThePlanet, ( still no Cpanel boxes @ RS )
     
  13. Silverado

    Silverado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backyard - Poolside
    I co-locate and rent servers. Either way is just as good.
    I think a lot of people are having one problem or another with cPanel. But maybe you should jump out there and try the others. I have used Pl**K and en**m....... and if it were a race I would have to say cPanel crossed the finish line MONTHS ago...... and everyone else still waiting on the competition to catch up!
    Hands down cPanel is the Best!
    Oh yeah.... cPanel is included, with much better support and rates, where I get my servers than anywhere I have ever seen and/or tried.
     
  14. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Would you be so kind to share the name of the company with us?
     
  15. Silverado

    Silverado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backyard - Poolside
    I would be more than happy too. But I just don't think it is right to post it here. If you will email me at jnelkemnelke@cox-internet.com I will be most happy to provide you with the URL.
     
  16. hostultra

    hostultra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just a tip for you:
    The $25 they charge per request not per IP
    so if you ask for say 10 ips at the same time you only pay the $25 once not 10 times
     
  17. hostcp3

    hostcp3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes I am aware of this.

    scenario,

    signup a new reseller who needs a dedicated ip or two, $25 ok so we request more so that we don't have to pay $25 next week or month when signing up another reseller, request rejected based on rules ip's have to be justified!

    requesting ips based on maybe future sales not justification enough.

    I also think they have a limit of how many ips you can have per server also.

    50 isn't it?
     
  18. hostultra

    hostultra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think the limit is 255 but you will never reach that because other servers on the same block, if there is no ips left they ask you if you want to be moved to another ip block, meaning all your IPs will change :(

    When requesting IPs just check the boxes for what you want them for, dont tell them your requesting it for future sales
     
  19. hostcp3

    hostcp3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hostultra

    Actually at this time we are running servers with ips from four different blocks!

    I imagine when you say different blocks you mean

    123.456.209.00

    and

    123.456.210.00

    does this cause any problems? we usually set the mask address different for certain blocks as advised by our DC.

    As the months roll on we add new ips from different blocks each time we signup new resellers.
     
  20. hostultra

    hostultra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes thats what i mean

    i know its possible to have ips from different subnets but i didnt think RS supports it.
    Im remember this from a year ago when i asked for extra ips they told me there was no IPs left on my subnet and they asked if i wanted to be moved to a different one meaning all my existing ips would be changed :eek:

    I dont do reselling or give dedicated ips so i rarely need to ask for an extra one
     
Loading...

Share This Page