The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How much difficult to handle a server if I purchase cPanel?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pakchess, Jul 16, 2012.

1. pakchess

pakchess Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was using cpanel in past and I have not used any dedicated server in past. This is first time I am planning to purchase a dedicated server but I am afraid to use or handle it because I have no any knowledge about server administration. I am only familiar with cpanel because I am using cpanel with shared hosting for all my web sites. If I order cpanel with dedicated server then is it possible to manage the server through cpanel as I used cpanel in my shared hosting? Or there are more complicated things involved?
    Now I think you understand my condition so please suggest me, if I purchase an unmanaged dedicated server, can I handle it with cpanel???

2. cPanelTristan

cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello pakchess,

There are other tasks to handle besides cPanel itself. You'll need to setup components in WHM (Web Hosting Manager) for the machine. I would suggest ensuring to find a good hosting provider who is at least willing to get you through the first week or two of setup for the machine to get everything working. After it is setup for the hostname, nameservers and domain on the machine, you'd likely not need that much assistance.

Also, we do have a WHM demo available to see options in it:

Live Demo | cPanel, Inc.

Please select the "Root and Reseller Admin" one listed.

Also, you are always welcome to ask questions here on the forum. If you run into any major issues on the machine, you can submit a ticket to us using WHM's Support Center > Contact cPanel area.

Thanks!

3. NetMantis