The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How much RAM for a cPanel VPS?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Drumrocker365, Dec 2, 2015.

  1. Drumrocker365

    Drumrocker365 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I'm possibly looking at different hosts, and my current host gives me 6GB RAM at a very cheap price (we worked out a discount since I gave them my domain which had a high volume of traffic). I'm not sure that they're capable of fulfilling my needs anymore, but other hosts are much more expensive for less RAM. I know, I know. You get what you pay for. That being said, I'm curious if I could get away with 4GB RAM on another host and still maintain reasonable speeds? My current host does not offer SSD hosting, and the ones I'm looking into will (so that should boost the speed.. right?). Do you think I can get by with 4GB or do I really need 6GB?

    Thanks,
    Christian
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,830
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    That amount meets the cPanel requirements, but whether or not it's enough depends on the usage of your existing accounts.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Drumrocker365

    Drumrocker365 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Currently in SolusVM, I use around 500-600MB all the time, and it never really goes beyond that. Oddly enough, I found in the past that when I went from 4GB to 6GB, there was still a speed jump. Any idea why? It was so long ago though, I don't remember how much slower 4GB was. I may try it again, but switching hosts is always a giant pain. Also, would you have a recommendation on a reliable VPS host with quality support?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,830
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's difficult to say why exactly you noticed an improvement with the additional RAM if the previous amount was not fully utilized. It's possible that it's something particular to the system you are using. You will likely receive more feedback on VPS hosting providers on a forum such as WebHostingTalk. The conversations here tend to lean more towards the cPanel/WHM software itself.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Drumrocker365

    Drumrocker365 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Great, thank you for your help!
     
Loading...

Share This Page