The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HOW:~ Own Name Servers (DNS)

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by ServerIntelligence, Feb 15, 2003.

  1. ServerIntelligence

    ServerIntelligence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi All.
    Just had Cpanel installed on one of my servers and not knowing a lot about it. I need to find out how to setup my own nameservers.

    I have on setup added the nameservers details to primary & secondary parts in WHM as ns1 & ns2 etc. But how do I attach the IP's to them?

    Can someone explain how to do it from start to finish or post a how to please.

    Kind regards,

    Brian

    ServerIntelligence.com
     
  2. SprintSlash

    SprintSlash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Go to &Manage Nameservers& in WHM and you'll see the IP associated with each NS..
     
  3. ServerIntelligence

    ServerIntelligence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks.

    Looking.

    regards,

    Brian
     
  4. ServerIntelligence

    ServerIntelligence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok.

    I see the following:~


    Updating records for ip 64.XX.XXX.X52..... Done
    IP Nameserver
    64.XX.XX.X50 ns1.XXXXXX.com Red X
    64.XX.XX.X51 ns2.XXXXXX.com Red X
    64.XX.XX.X53 64.XX.XX.X53 Red X
    64.XX.XX.X54 64.XX.XX.X54 Red X

    The main server IP is 64.XX.XX.X50 and its being used for NS1. IP 64.XX.XX.X51 is using the NS2 NS.

    I did not want the main server IP being used and need the 2 spare IP's of 64.XX.XX.X53 & X54 to be used for NS1 & NS2.

    How can I change it over or is it ok to use the main IP issued for one of the NS1 and another spare IP for NS2.

    Thanks,

    Brian

    PS.

    Hope this makes any sence.
     
  5. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Always best to think of your two lowest IP's as the two to be used for Nameservers -- for that Server. Entries shown for .53 & .54 are incorrect and should be removed. You can do this be manually editting [b:1feccc7354]# /etc/nameserverips[/b:1feccc7354] and removing them -- should say: =0 not the IP address. This will put those two IP's back into availability status. File is [readonly] BTW so you need to change it then change it back when finished.
     
  6. ServerIntelligence

    ServerIntelligence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have deleted the 2 IP's from the # /etc/nameserverips file and made them =0

    When I go back into Manage Nameserver IPs in WHM it still shows them as before?

    Any ideas?

    Regards,

    Brian
     
  7. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would use: WHM & Ip Functions & Rebuild the IP Address Pool
    or just Restart Bind.
     
  8. ServerIntelligence

    ServerIntelligence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, I'll try it now.

    Regards,

    Brian
     
  9. ServerIntelligence

    ServerIntelligence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I edited the nameserverips file but the IP's keep on returning. What is the command so I can find out what the chmod is for the file so I can edited it.

    Regards,

    Brian
     
  10. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ahh, you re-read my earlier post I see. ;)

    The file is 444 (or -r--r--r--) by defualt so you need to first:

    # chmod 755 /etc/nameserverips

    # vi /etc/nameserverips

    make changes and save

    # chmod 444 /etc/nameserverips


    I'm suprized though, because if you use Vi and when you first opened the file, it would have stated at the bottom it was a readonly file. Handy thing that is. :)
     
  11. ServerIntelligence

    ServerIntelligence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well I chmod 755 /etc/nameserverips edited the file using Pico to read the following:

    64.XXX.XX.X50=ns1.serverintelligence.com
    64.XXX.XX.X51=ns2.serverintelligence.com
    64.XXX.XX.X52=0
    64.XXX.XX.X53=0
    64.XXX.XX.X54=0

    Then chmod 444 /etc/nameserverips and run Rebuild the IP Address Pool.

    It still stated the 2 IP's with in Manage Nameserver IPs and I went back into /etc/nameserverips file and they were put back in?


    Now Im lost?????

    Regards,

    Brian
     
  12. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Hey, Website_Rob,
    Is it possible for me to edit the file and put say:

    12.345.67.8 ns1.mydomain.com
    12.345.67.9 ns2.mydomain.com
    12.345.67.8 ns1.otherdomain.com
    12.345.67.9 ns2.otherdomain.com

    Or will that cause problems?
     
  13. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Don't forget the equal sign and I wouldn't use the same IP for two different host names. There is lots I don't know about DNS, but using the same IP for two different host names is not something I am familiar with.

    Something I forgot to mention in my earlier posts is that the nameserverips file may also be readonly. As I use Vi (I used to use Pico) it tells me whenever the file is read only. So, if, after making changes you re-open the file and nothing has changed, you know the file is readonly.

    chattr -i allows changes to be made

    chattr +i makes the file readonly
     
Loading...

Share This Page