The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how SuExec \"friendly\" is cpanel?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Brownie, Sep 15, 2001.

  1. Brownie

    Brownie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Id like to use SuExec but havent enabled it because of all these tales about it breaking cpanel.

    I know interchange would break but we have already killed it.

    So, what would be the worse thing to happen IF I enabled SuExec?

    cheers ;)
     
  2. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:c8dd085d94]Id like to use SuExec but havent enabled it because of all these tales about it breaking cpanel.

    I know interchange would break but we have already killed it.

    So, what would be the worse thing to happen IF I enabled SuExec?

    cheers ;) [/quote:c8dd085d94]


    cgi-sys will break as well
     
  3. Domenico

    Domenico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ehm, why?
     
  4. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:8b80f46a32]Ehm, why? [/quote:8b80f46a32]

    because of suexec security checks.
     
  5. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    I\'m looking into mod_interchange as a work around for the interchange problem .. that just leaves cgi-sys
     
  6. Brownie

    Brownie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:96062464d8]I\'m looking into mod_interchange as a work around for the interchange problem .. that just leaves cgi-sys [/quote:96062464d8]

    Excellant! Thanks Nick :)
     
  7. Webdude

    Webdude Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    CPanel works fine under SuEXEC. The only conflict is that the global scripts that comes with cpanel (guestbook, bbs, etc) wont work. It doesnt affect CPanel itself. That means you cant offer those to clients, which is fine, they can upload their own choices in that case.

    I dont see why Nick doesnt at least partially support SuEXEC. It all works great together and security is much better with SuEXEC. People just have to use their heads and realize that certain non-essential items will not work, and not bug Nick about them.
     
  8. Brownie

    Brownie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well, you could just stick all the files in the skel-dir and they will be placed into the new account.

    [quote:076f528906]People just have to use their heads and realize that certain non-essential items will not work, and not bug Nick about them.
    [/quote:076f528906]

    I was simply asking a question :)
     
  9. Domenico

    Domenico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is webalizer going to break also when enabling suexec ?
     
  10. nitromax

    nitromax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm using suexec and cgi-sys works fine...

    When our CPanel was installed by the rep that we purchased it from, we had him enable suexec, even though he warned us about all of the things that would break becuase of doing it.

    After I had one of our admin guys check it out, our admin told me that suexec was NOT setup correctly. Our admin set it up and we haven't seen a problem with anything yet.

    Maybe these issues have been worked on the CPanel side.

    But we have custom scripts which are called from the control panel that reside in the cgi-sys, and they work great. Interchange works fine too with suexec.

    --
    Chad R.
     
  11. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:4178edfa39][i:4178edfa39]Originally posted by nitromax[/i:4178edfa39]

    When our CPanel was installed by the rep that we purchased it from, we had him enable suexec, even though he warned us about all of the things that would break becuase of doing it.

    After I had one of our admin guys check it out, our admin told me that suexec was NOT setup correctly. Our admin set it up and we haven't seen a problem with anything yet.

    Maybe these issues have been worked on the CPanel side.

    But we have custom scripts which are called from the control panel that reside in the cgi-sys, and they work great. Interchange works fine too with suexec.

    --
    Chad R.[/quote:4178edfa39]

    It all sounds great. Maybe you can get your admin to tell us how to set up suexec correctly? ;)
     
  12. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:867055392f][i:867055392f]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:867055392f]

    [quote:867055392f][i:867055392f]Originally posted by nitromax[/i:867055392f]

    When our CPanel was installed by the rep that we purchased it from, we had him enable suexec, even though he warned us about all of the things that would break becuase of doing it.

    After I had one of our admin guys check it out, our admin told me that suexec was NOT setup correctly. Our admin set it up and we haven't seen a problem with anything yet.

    Maybe these issues have been worked on the CPanel side.

    But we have custom scripts which are called from the control panel that reside in the cgi-sys, and they work great. Interchange works fine too with suexec.

    --
    Chad R.[/quote:867055392f]

    It all sounds great. Maybe you can get your admin to tell us how to set up suexec correctly? ;)[/quote:867055392f]

    Rebuild apache from layer1.cpanel.net using buildapache.sea if you cpanel was installed before we offered suexec support (or if you just want to upgrade )
    ---
    Verify permissions on /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec being 4755
    ---
    Run /scripts/initsuexec
     
Loading...

Share This Page