The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How t turn on register_globals?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bootable, Jul 14, 2004.

  1. Bootable

    Bootable Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can anyone tell me step by step how to turn on the register_globals ?
    Thank you
     
  2. netwrkr

    netwrkr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    edit php.ini change register_globals to On.
     
  3. Bootable

    Bootable Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for the Reaply...
    but i'am new in all this... can you please tell me how to find the php.ini file i have a WebServer with WHM 9.4.0 cPanel 9.4.1-S65
    Fedora - WHM X v3.1.0 i'am not running the server on my pc.
    all i need is to find out where is located the php.ini file
    Thank you
     
  4. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    No! What you need to find out is how to locate files on your server. ;)

    Assuming the file is in your locate database (man locate for more information), you can use

    locate php.ini

    Of course, you are likely to find more than one php.ini file. The next question is which one do I change. ;)
     
  5. Bootable

    Bootable Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the Reply....
    as i said i'am new in all this... so can you please tell me how can i locate the files on my server? you talking about the files tht are in host ? like home\public_html\Forum....?
    i mean you talking about the files tht we manage from the cpanel ?
     
  6. Specks

    Specks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    php.ini is not a file that is managed by cpanel. You need to open an ssh connection to your server. May I suggest that you read up on unix/linux administration before you do this? If you do the wrong thing as root you can seriously screw your server up.:eek: Once you read up on administration you'll know how to get to the ini file. Untill then keep your mitts off the ssh terminal unless you're going through the cPanel manager. :cool:
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Very good suggestion. I know from experience. I'll never forget my first mistake when I was first using a server for my own purpose 3 years ago. I knew little about shell, went in to install something, then made a mistake that cost me $$$ for a reinstall. :eek:

    To anyone who isn't sure what they're doing:

    Unless the server is for your own personal use, if you want to do something and aren't sure what you're doing, hire someone. It can be a lot cheaper in the end.
     
Loading...

Share This Page