The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HOW to ACCESS and MODIFY CONTENTS of my DATABASES

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by spainhighlander, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. spainhighlander

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Benidorm, Spain
    Hi

    This is probably a really daft question regarding using the PHPMyAdmin program.within CPANEL.

    I have managed to create some databases in CPANEL using the PHPMyAdmin; NO TABLES basically just names and users for them.

    Using WAMP, and the PHPMyAdmin which comes with it, I have also managed to create the same sort of thing on my own PC.

    What I really need to know is:

    How do I (so to speak) LINK UP the two things ?

    I'm finding it very confusing ... it's probably so simple

    Thank you in advance

    Perron.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Link up what two things if I may ask? Your home server setup and the database you created there? Or your home servers database with your cPanel account database?

    Not this is a cPanel related question.
     
  3. spainhighlander

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Benidorm, Spain
    Hi

    Thank you for replying to my question.

    Apologise for notmaking it clear .....


    Your home server setup and the database you created there?
    I think I am OK with this aspect ... in fact I simply followed CPanel video ... and it went like magic.



    Or your home servers database with your cPanel account database?

    This is the one that I really can't make happen .... (not certain about the terminology ...but ...)

    How do databases, tables and data get from MyPHPAdmin on my PC
    (downloaded using WAMP)
    to the MyPHPAdmin place
    located within CPanel.


    Hope I have got it right this time ...:eek:

    By the way, I am not that young ... so easy on the terminology ...:rolleyes:

    Regards
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might want to check out the docs for PHPMyAdmin.
    phpMyAdmin 3.3.0-dev - Documentation

    Sounds to me like you want to backup your database (locally) and restore it to another server (your cPanel server). Those docs should help there.
     
  5. spainhighlander

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Benidorm, Spain
    Hi there

    Thank you for your rapid response. It is much appreciated.

    I was rather hoping for a less conceptual answer to my lack of understanding ... sort of ... 1.Do this ...2. Do that ... kind of thing.

    This is in no way a criticism of yourself, but of myself.

    Being a 'newbie'
    (well to PHP any way ... but not to the world ... senior is a better epithet)... it's the type of advice I actually need.

    Thank you again

    Regards
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Well, you'd have to provide more exact details on a few things.

    1) Do you have PHPMyAdmin installed on your local server you mentioned previously?
    2) Am I correct in that you have a database on this home server that you'd like to download from that home server, then upload to your cPanel server?
    3) Can you be more specific as to what the end game is here? What I mean is, what are you trying to do exactly? I guess this is part b of question 2.
     
  7. spainhighlander

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Benidorm, Spain
    Hi

    This is really kind of you getting back to me


    1) Do you have PHPMyAdmin installed on your local server you mentioned previously?
    I have PHPMyAdmin on my PC .... and I can create databases and tables.
    Nothing has been uploaded to the internet yet ... because I don't know how to.
    The data, tables and databases have not gone anywhere.
    (I'm not entirely certain what is meant by home server ... I suppose it means PC or localhost) If so, then YES.





    2) Am I correct in that you have a database on this home server that you'd like to download from that home server, then upload to your cPanel server?
    I want to be able to create databases on my PC ..using PHPMyAdmin ... kick them around a bit at home on the computer... and then put them on a website ...
    viz:home (daughter's wedding website :))




    3) Can you be more specific as to what the end game is here? What I mean is, what are you trying to do exactly? I guess this is part b of question 2.

    After the wedding is over... and I have recovered from the financial shock of it all ... there are going to be a trillion photos to upload ... organise, reorganise and put into categories ... as well as wanting to enable guests to select which photos they want to see.

    So ... at the moment.... I can create databases ... in anticipation of the type of thing I am going to need, but how do I use PHPMyAdmin with CPanel ?
    There's the problem.

    You are being more than helpful at this point. In fact, I am off to UK tomorrow to sort out some plans. The memsahib is in your country ... New York State, place called Wassaic ... so there is just me and the computer ... (I live in a small Spanish village ... all farmers!) ....and I suppose you now .. to help me get things straight.

    Cheers
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you open your local install of PHPMyAdmin and click first on the database you wish to export on left menu we'll call it myphotos for example, over on the right side, top of page you'll see a tab titled Export. Click that. On the page that opens you see many options. To understand them all, the docs is the best way to go.

    For the basics, you could try this. In the Export column click the "Select All" option which will highlight all your tables in this database. Down below leave SQL ticked.

    To the right of that you see the Structure settings, these could be left to default. That is unless you plan on updating this data using the same database. If so then tick the Add DROP TABLE option. When you upload this table to your online database, if tables already exist they will be dropped recreated and populated with the new data from this SQL backup you're about to make.

    Down at bottom of page you see the section to Save as File. Tick the Save as File, Untick the Remember Template name and type a name in, myphotos, as an example here, also tick gzipped to compress the file if large. If not leave set to none.

    Now click the Go button, bottom right corner and save to desktop.

    Depending on your selection of Save File, you should now have either a file named myphotos.sql.gz or myphotos.sql The first of course is a compressed version of the second.

    Now you want to add it to a database on your cPanel server. But, you need a database setup first. I just posted some comments on this sort of thing to another thread you might find useful here:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f34/loading-joomla-site-138977.html#post595825
    Or there's a cPanel training video you might watch here:
    Add MySQL

    Now you have a new database created, and a backed up SQL file on your desktop that you want to upload to the server.

    Open PHPMyAdmin on the server, find the newly created database here on left menu and click title. On right side of page, at top find the Import tab and click. Here you'll see the Browse button for Location of Text File section. Click that and point it to your myphotos.sql on desk.

    Now down bottom of page click the Go Button.

    If all goes well, the database will be imported to the server.

    This is of course very generalized to be sure, but should give you some idea of what needs done to accomplish what you seek.

    That said, if you like working with databases this is one way to go. If you just wanted to get a bunch of photos online to that website, there are plenty of easier ways to do this. Uploading a gallery of some sort might be one of the easiest.

    Or even easier yet, use a free tool like flikr or Picasa or even something as dead simple as this one, Web Gallery Creator, where you set a few options, point it to your images, and click Create Gallery. Everything is sent to a new directory and a gallery is created for you. Upload that directory to your site, customize it a bit and you're done.

    This forum isn't really for this sort of support though, please keep that in mind. If you have problems with your cPanel and using PHPMyAdmin, you'll do best to ask your host for support. For more on using PHPMyAdmin on your home server, the docs for it should be checked out.

    Not sure if that helps much, but there you go. :p

    Good Luck.
     
    #8 Infopro, Nov 25, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
  9. spainhighlander

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Benidorm, Spain
    You are an absolute hero ....

    I can't do anything today on it ... but you have done a really excellent ... Jack and Jill (not sure what the American-speak equivalent would be ... ABC ... or similar).

    On Monday, after returning from England, I shall certainly follow those directions.

    Well done ... and thanks once again.

    Stewart
     
Loading...

Share This Page