The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to access webmail directly

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by strauberry, Apr 6, 2003.

  1. strauberry

    strauberry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,
    how can I get access to webmail directly? Without loging into the admin-account an click on the "Start Webmail" link? Is there another way like www.yourdomain.com/webmail or something?

    Thank you!!
    strauberry
     
  2. Hoster2k

    Hoster2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
  3. strauberry

    strauberry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you very much!
     
  4. strauberry

    strauberry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,
    is it also possible to access the logfiles?
    I tried /log, /logs, /stats, /webalizer but none of these urls worked...

    And something else: How can I change the language of webalizer to german? Is there a language file?

    Thank you!
     
  5. LuXien

    LuXien Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    root.ozane.net (Dom. Rep.)
    yes, i would als like to know how to access the webalizer from outside??
     
  6. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here's a thought;

    When you want to access a feature of the Control Panel without having to first open the Control Panel, use the Control Panel to access whatever feature you want -then- Bookmark it.

    Makes sense, no? :D
     
  7. strauberry

    strauberry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,
    no sorry it doesn't BECAUSE you need the "root" or admin-password to access your bookmark. I asked because I want to give my cilents the possibility to access their webmail, webftp, weblogs etc. directly without going through the whole admin-area.... so I doesn't make sense :)

    Thank you anyway!!

    strauberry
     
  8. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Why would someone need 'root' when they are accessing their own Cpanel -- or features therein? :confused:
     
  9. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    what he means is they need root for that account. I started searching and found this thread. I have a developer that doesn't give CP access to her clients. They want to see stats but she wants them to stay out of the CP.

    a nice re-direct like this would be great

    http://domain.com/webalizer/
     
  10. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Good information on a problem is always a plus. Unfortunately, most people don't include all the info on a problem -- for a good answer to be given.

    If we presume you are correct, then they can do what they want by doing like you suggest (with that type URL). Problem on the Hosters part is, to setup an .htaccess access and 'symlink' for each feature they want to provide access to -- this also means for each Client. Trying to provide a feature/service that requires something 'above & beyond' what is provided through most Control Panels, is a Big Headache in my book.

    But then again, why anyone would want to give access to features, provided by a Control Panel, but not give access to the Control Panel itself, is not a philosophy I can understand. Much easier to use a specific, 3rd party script, that provides something along the lines of the feature(s) they want to provide access to.
     
    #10 Website Rob, May 2, 2003
    Last edited: May 2, 2003
  11. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    actually it can be done in the redirect.cgi that cpanel uses for control panel directing...like is in httpd.conf for /cpanel and /webmail

    we had ours working back a month or so ago and I think it got overwritten :(
     
  12. trakwebster

    trakwebster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, Hoster2k,

    Do you know if there is any similar way to access horde rather than neomail?
     
  13. Silverado

    Silverado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backyard - Poolside
Loading...

Share This Page