The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to activate homedir streaming when copying accounts?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Valetia, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. Valetia

    Valetia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We noticed that ever since our servers were upgraded to cPanel 11.30.x, the copy accounts function no longer streams the homedir, opting instead to package the whole thing before copying it over.

    We have tried toggling SSL, incremental backups, compression, etc. all to no avail.

    Is there a way to re-activate the homedir streaming option?

    Is anyone able to get homedir streaming working on cPanel 11.30.x?
     
  2. lorio

    lorio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What do you mean by "streaming". The opposite of using the archive split method?

    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/pkgacct --use_backups <...> --split --nocompress

    The nocompress flag seems to be ignored.

    Which transfer method did you use? FTP and SSH? The SSL switch would suggest FTP.
     
  3. Valetia

    Valetia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In previous versions of cPanel, account transfers would automatically go into 'homedir streaming' mode. In this mode, everything except the home directory of the user would first get packaged and transferred. Then the homedir is "streamed" over directly from the actual source home directory to the destination. This is important for moving accounts with large (e.g. > 10 GB) home directories.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you please indicate the exact WHM > Transfers option you are using, since there are multiple sections in the Transfers section.
     
  5. Valetia

    Valetia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here are the exact options we use:

    Don't compress transfers: UNchecked
    Use SSL: Checked
    Use Incremental Backups speed-up: UNchecked
    Allow Override: UNchecked
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Valetia,

    In which specific area? WHM > Transfers area has 2 sections that have these options:

    Copy an account from another server
    Copy multiple accounts/packages from another server

    Which is the one being used?

    Next, is any error outputting into /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log location when these are packaging? When you check "Review Copied Accounts" section in WHM > Transfers, do you show any reason it indicates streaming isn't occurring?

    Thanks!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - activate homedir streaming
  1. banimalk
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    336

Share This Page