The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to add an existing database to a users cPanel?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jerrek71, Oct 4, 2006.

  1. jerrek71

    jerrek71 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi there,
    I have a user who's moved to me from a different provider. He has a database which is not of the format username_database (just database) but I need to be able to give him access to this database from his cPanel account - how can I add that database so that he can administer it himself from his cPanel account?

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
  2. RickG

    RickG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Carolina
    My preference:

    1) Create the database while logged into the client's cPanel account. This will establish permissions etc. should they want to access it in their control panel using phpMyAdmin, change database passwords, users, etc.

    2) Yes ... this will name the database in the "username_database" format, but the name of the database is usually defined once in a script configuration file and should be a very simple change on their end.

    3) If you've already imported their SQL dump as root, I would export it (so it is current), create the database as in step #1, and then import it back in.
     
  3. Divino

    Divino Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No add an existing database to a users cPanel

    ok perfect
     
    #3 Divino, Mar 11, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page