The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to add cPanel for subdomain?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Divvy, Nov 13, 2015.

  1. Divvy

    Divvy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is it possible to set up cPanel for a subdomain?

    I have a website domain.com
    And I want to create a website in sub.domain.com but with cpanel access so I can make/restore backups for each account separated.

    I did this:
    - In WHM, go to "Create a new account". For Domain, enter subdomain.domain.com. Proceed as normal from there.

    But sub.domain is not working...
    Any suggestion?

    Btw, my domain is using a dedicated IP ending in 198
    And I notice that sub.domain.com is using the shared main server IP ending in 194, could be the reason not working? I checked this in "Edit DNS Zone".

    Please advice... thanks!
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    yes it its perfectly fine to set up a subdomain.domain.com as it one cpanel/Unix user
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Is the DNS for this domain name handled by the cPanel server or a remote DNS server? Check to make sure the "A" record for the subdomain points to the IP address assigned to the account associated with it.

    Thank you.
     
  4. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Reading the post, i'm of the impression that Divvy wants to create a subdomain, and let this subdomain have it's own cpanel login.
    I thought this wasn't possible ?
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If domain.com is already on the server, creating an individual cPanel account for sub.domain.com can be done easy enough.
     
Loading...

Share This Page