The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to add dkim signature in outgoing email

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by glub0t, Sep 15, 2014.

  1. glub0t

    glub0t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, I try to implement dkim / spf for outgoing email. I read this link, Installing DomainKeys and SPF Records - The cPanel Admin, for reference. But, I didn't found dkim signature in the outgoing email. How can I troubleshoot this error?

    There is also a strange behavior in one cpanel account which when I enable the dkim from account authentication, it show dkim enabled, but when I go back to account authentication page, it show dkim disabled.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Information on setting up SPF and DKIM records is found here:

    Email Authentication

    Have you verified the domain name uses name servers associated with the cPanel server?

    Thank you.
     
  3. glub0t

    glub0t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    > Have you verified the domain name uses name servers associated with the cPanel server?

    FYI, when I dig the spf and dkim (which I use default._domainkey.mydomain), the data return as expected. I use my own nameserver and mydomain is listed there.

    About the article in your provided link, I think the php example is still missing dkim signature. Please, correct me if I wrong.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The records you configure in cPanel are useless if the DNS for the domain name is handled elsewhere. You would have to configure the records at the DNS hosting provider of that domain name.

    Thank you.
     
  5. glub0t

    glub0t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    > Have you verified the domain name uses name servers associated with the cPanel server?

    I'm sorry, i'm not fully understand your question here. How to verify this?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You wrote:

    Could you elaborate on what you mean by this? I took this to mean that you do not use cPanel for DNS purposes. A website such as IntoDNS will let you know what name servers are used.

    Thank you.
     
  7. glub0t

    glub0t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    > I took this to mean that you do not use cPanel for DNS purposes.

    No, I also use cpanel for dns purposes. I'm sure that the domain name uses name servers associated with the cPanel server.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page