Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How to allow adding Russian domain names in Cyrillic charsets?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by markedwards, Jun 13, 2011.

  1. markedwards

    markedwards Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,

    I have a customer that is trying to add an addon domain that is using cyrillic letters since the domain name is in Russian. However cPanel is saying the domain name is invalid even though it's registered already and the name servers point at my server. So it seems there's some other issue with WHM/cPanel itself.

    One thing more I discovered is that if I try to do a whois lookup on the domain from a command line in a shell then the lookup fails. However if I do the same lookup on my laptop system on a different network then the lookup works fine. The domain itself has been registered for a while, so it's not an issue of the domain name being new.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,170
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In looking at older posts on this forum about this it was suggested that you needed to convert the domain name. I'm not sure this is the best answer here, just trying to help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. markedwards

    markedwards Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    USA
    Ya, I just found an older post from 2009 that said one solution is to convert to punycode using this tool:

    IDN Conversion Tool

    But that seems a bit tedious for users to have to do that all the time. Seems to me that at this point cPanel could do that conversion automatically, or allow for cyrillic chars to be entered directly.

    Anybody have the best solution?
     
    #3 markedwards, Jun 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice