Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How to allow cpanel users to download their own cpanel backups?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by electric, Feb 14, 2012.

  1. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Hello,

    I'm sorry if this has already been asked and answered. (I searched the forums but did not find an answer.)

    I would like for our cpanel customers to be able to see and download the daily/weekly/monthly cpanel backups that are created by WHM.

    (I realize customer can create their own backup "on-demand".. this is not what I want.)

    So basically, I would like for customer to be able to login to their cpanel and view a list of their backups that are available, and then click a "download" link for the one(s) they want to download.

    The reason is because we have many customers who "direct link" to the backup page in cpanel and create their own cpanel backups every day. This basically causes duplicate work for the server, since we are already running daily backups.. so there is no reason for the customer to run the exact same backup themselves. The only problem is that they don't have access to the WHM backup system.

    Any suggestions? I thought maybe some kind of symlink, like how the log files are handled? So there would be a symlink to the customer's backups?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,311
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Are System Backups not displayed for you? You should see options in the Backups section of the users cPanel.
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    No, I am not seeing the daily/weekly/monthly backup buttons.

    I only see the "Download or Generate a Full Website Backup" button.

    Where can I enable these missing buttons?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,311
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Are System Backups enabled?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Yes. In "WHM->Configure Backup" I have "Backup Status" as enabled.

    (And backups are running successfully on the server with no problem.)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. ljesh

    ljesh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Same problem here.
    I have the backups running nightly, everything is ok... but when you login as a customer in cpanel, go to backup, you only see generate backup.

    EDIT: I have incremental backups enabled. Could that be the problem?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #6 ljesh, Feb 14, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2012
  7. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    OK, we figured out how to "fix" this. It looks like the "EXPERIMENTAL: Enable use of optimized account backup tool." option in the backup configuration needs to be enabled.

    The "System Backups" buttons in the cpanel are now showing once we enabled that feature.

    :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,311
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That shouldn't have anything to do with the buttons in my image above I don't believe.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Perhaps not, but I can confirm the buttons disappear when that feature is disabled, and the buttons do appear when the feature is enabled.

    So... seems like maybe a bug somewhere?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,311
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    No way of knowing from here. If you suspect a bug you might want to report it.

    Do compressed Backups exist?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    We have disabled the "Compress Account Backups" feature, and enabled the "Incremental Backup (only backup what has changed.) (**No Compression**, not compatible w/FTP backups)" feature.

    So I don't think compressed backups exist? But yet, the "System Backups" daily/weekly/monthly buttons are in every customer's cpanel. (Which is what we want...)

    The Backup configuration page isn't very well created. The features seem somewhat conflicting. (ie: Even the two features above seem to conflict. If we select incremental backups, does this mean it doesn't matter if the "compress account backups" feature is enable or not?

    :confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,311
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Yes, I saw that page also before I posted to this forum... but it does not explain which option enables the "System Backups" buttons in the user's cpanel.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice