The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to bypass setting up DNS nameserver entries

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by soundlib, Sep 7, 2004.

  1. soundlib

    soundlib Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am trying to not have the DNS server being handled by the same machine that runs Cpanel. But whenever, I try to create an account from WHM
    It keeps complaining with the following error message:


    "Please setup a nameserver under Server Setup in WHM!!!
    Missing NS Config Line in /etc/wwwacct.conf "


    I though that if I went to: "Service Manager" and disabled BIND, it would stop trying
    to find BIND.

    Any possible suggestions?
     
  2. soundlib

    soundlib Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I figured it out.

    under /scripts/wwwacct

    I commented out the following lines so that it will not exit without a Bind Entry.


    #if ($nameserver eq "") {
    # print "<b>Please setup a nameserver under Server Setup in WHM!!!</b>\n";
    # print "<script>alert(\"Please setup a nameserver under Server Setup in WHM and try again!!!\");</script>\n";
    #
    # deaderror "Missing NS Config Line in /etc/wwwacct.conf\n";
    #
    #}
    #if ($nameserver2 eq "") {
    # deaderror "Missing NS2 Config Line in /etc/wwwacct.conf\n";
    #}
     
    #2 soundlib, Sep 7, 2004
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2004
  3. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi,

    Just a comment.

    I believe it really doesn't matter anyhow if the local cpanel box was generating dns records locally, because as you say, you're handling the dns from outside that box. As long as the exterior dns server is giving out the proper info for any particular domain name, it really makes no difference what info (or lack of info) the local dns server is supplying, because the queries from the outside world arent hitting there.

    ~Drake
     
  4. soundlib

    soundlib Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Drake,

    The problem came up because Cpanel was requiring me to have BIND running,
    and when it could not add a record to BIND, it exited the vitual hosting creation
    script, and failed to create a user.

    The only way for me to bypass this is to tell it not to check for Cpanel created nameserver,
    which is what was done above.

    It would be great if Cpanel can specify that we create a cpanel installation
    without BIND for security.
     
Loading...

Share This Page