The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to cCreate database and users

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by slolo, Feb 8, 2012.

1. slolo

slolo Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    How to create a new database and user

Hello,

This question has probably been discussed many times but I have found the answer nowhere.
    I am new with CentOS 5.7 and cPanel 11.30.5 (build 6)

I have a VPS (with Santrex) which provided the OS CentOS with cPanel (included)
    All work perfectly.

What I would like is very simple (normally).
    I just want to create a new database and a create a user in order to use it.
    My aim is to have a simple web site (in PHP) with a database.

So, here is what I have done:
    - In WHM, I have created an new account with a domain and a username (like that I can use it for my Web site instead of root user)
    - I have created and tested successfully a small PHP page and it works

Now, in WHM, I launch phpMyAdmin in order to create my database but there is no way to create a database.
    I can create a database with SQL script: CREATE DATABASE mydatabase
    But I cannot add user. When I click on the button "Add a user", nothing happen.

To sum up, what is the way (best way) to create a database and add user in order to use in PHP.

Also, what is exactly "Database Map Tool" and how does it work?

Thanks in advance and have a nice day.

ps: Sorry for my bad english.

#1 slolo, Feb 8, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2012
  2. cPanelJared

cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You said you created a new cPanel account in the WebHost Manager. That is the first step. Now you need to log into cPanel with the username and password for that account and create the database in cPanel.