The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to change /backup to /home2

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by nerbonne, Aug 19, 2007.

  1. nerbonne

    nerbonne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just got a new server, and when I purchased it, I got a 250GB and a 500GB drive. Well, the company I rent it from installed the 500GB drive as /backup. I would like to make it /home2 and use it to host more sites. Can someone tell me how to change that.
     
  2. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    You do realize you should have a second drive for backups. If you do backups to your only main drive and it fails you lose not only your active system but also your backups as well.
     
  3. nerbonne

    nerbonne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks, but that doesn't answer my question at all.
     
  4. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Well it wasn't meant to answer your question, sorry. I was only trying to warn you that you are about to remove your only hope for recovery in case of a hard drive failure or hack that blows everything away.
     
  5. nerbonne

    nerbonne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here is the contents of the fstab. Can I just edit the file and change the two instances of /backup to /home2 and then disable fstab-sync?

    [root@server6 ~]# cat /etc/fstab
    # This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
    LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 1
    LABEL=/backup /backup ext3 defaults 1 2
    LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
    none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/home /home ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    none /proc proc defaults 0 0
    none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    LABEL=/tmp /tmp ext3 defaults 1 2
    LABEL=/usr /usr ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    LABEL=/var /var ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    LABEL=SWAP-sda8 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda /media/cdrom auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
    [root@server6 ~]#
     
  6. nerbonne

    nerbonne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Appreciate the concern, but I use rsync to backup all the servers to an offsite location.
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
  8. nerbonne

    nerbonne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
  9. jorj1

    jorj1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Copied from there, so it's not lost:

    "Changing mountpoint from /backup to /home2"

    umount /backup
    To change the label on that filesystem to the new mount point name. :
    tune2fs -L /home2 /dev/sdb1

    Modify /etc/fstab and changes both occurrences of /backup to /home2.
    mkdir /home2
    mount /home2
    rmdir /backup
     
Loading...

Share This Page