The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Change Package Name

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Brad, Jan 3, 2003.

  1. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Seems I've done this in the past but I cannot find anything in the forums here on it.

    Is it possible to change an existing package name that users are currently assigned to without hosing their accounts?

    I have lot's of packages that I'd like to assign to root account only, so they don't show up in the resellers areas.

    Currently all packages show up in the resellers area unless it is created by another reseller, then it does not. So, I figure if I add root_ before the package name, they will not.
     
  2. iain-pczap.net

    iain-pczap.net Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    to change package name wouldnt you goto rename package which is under remove package?
     
  3. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You cannot rename the package under &edit&.
     
  4. billwill

    billwill Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The title of this post is exacly why I signed up for this site today.

    How can I rename a package from either the whm or cpanel interface?

    I found ways on google, but they are convoluted command-line solutions. The previous post was from 2003, and I'm sure in the last six years cpanel has come up with a simple interface for this basic functionality.

    Can someone tell me where it is?

    Thanks,
    Bw
     
    #4 billwill, Feb 14, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2009
  5. billwill

    billwill Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the spam, roger. It's very helpful to the discussion.

    Here's your email address for others wanting to share their gratitude to you as well:

    info@decouvertesmag.com
     
    #5 billwill, Feb 14, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2009
  6. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi billwill,

    If you are trying to prevent other resellers from using your packages, uncheck them in Reseller Center and they will not show up for them.

    If you are really trying to rename them, then only shell or ftp access can do it as far as I know.

    Ron
     
  7. billwill

    billwill Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Ron -

    I don't have any resellers, just a lot of sites.

    Currently, I have different packages setup and different sites associated with each one.

    I keep running into the need to "tweak" a package, and want to just do it once without having to create a new package, then go site by site and associating sites with the new package.

    For example, I had a package with everything laid out - ftp access # of email accounts, bandwidth, sever space etc. My convention is for example, hosting 2-50-500 thinking that would be an easy way to identify it. Two emails, 50 mb space, 500 mb bandwidth. Now, if I want to add three emails, I'd just like to simply rename it 3-50-500 after I add one email account.

    Isn't there a way to do this in WHM or Cpanel without all the extra hoops?
     
    #7 billwill, Feb 16, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2009
  8. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As far as I know there is no way through WHM to rename the packages. The current package could be adjusted as desired, but the name is not changed.

    In shell or FTP this can be easily accomplished by copying the "hosting 2-50-500" package and saving it as "hosting 3-50-500". You would then in WHM access the newly copied "hosting 3-50-500" package and adjust the emails to 3. Then assign the new package to the desired accounts.

    The only other way would be with "ConfigServer Explorer" or a similar file tool added into WHM to access the desired files and copy/rename as needed.

    Sorry that I am unable to come up with anything closer to what you actually desire,
    Ron
     
  9. britsenigma

    britsenigma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just shows you know the market well. I hope that's a free account :)
     
  10. JawadArshad

    JawadArshad Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Packages are stored on the server in '/var/cpanel/packages' folder, you can simply login via SSH, copy and tweak the package file on the server using vi editor. If you are a sysadmin/host, you need to know how to work on the command line.

    ==
    root@server [/var/cpanel/packages]# cat username_pkg
    FRONTPAGE=y
    CPMOD=x3
    FEATURELIST=default
    BWLIMIT=3000
    IP=n
    CGI=y
    MAXSUB=1
    MAXSQL=1
    MAXFTP=2
    QUOTA=300
    MAXPARK=1
    HASSHELL=n
    MAXADDON=1
    MAXPOP=10
    MAXLST=1
    ==

    rename the package using this command

    cp username_pkg username_pkg2

    then edit the new package file username_pkg2.
     
  11. billwill

    billwill Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks everyone.

    Still surprised that this isn't an easy cpanel process, but your suggestions helped.

    I'm not comfortable with the command line, so I ftp'd with ws-ftppro to the directory you provided JPC-Howard, and copied/renamed the package. Then I edited it with Textpad. This worked great.

    What didn't work, and I mention this for someone else's future reference, is I also edited the var/cpanel/users/username file, changing the package name in that file. When I viewed this in cpanel, it seems that the upgrade actually happened, but it still showed up as the old package name in the "list accounts" view. No biggie - I just upgraded the user to the new package I had created.

    I'm not familiar with "ConfigServer Explorer", but I'm going to Google that now.

    Thanks again,
    BW
     
  12. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I used above steps & it is done success but i just wanted to know why the renamed package is not udpate those who used the old one ?

    And one more thing this is not renaming, it makes a copy of the file
     
    #12 crazyaboutlinux, Sep 24, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page