The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to change password of database user from cpanel?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by giuly, Feb 10, 2009.

  1. giuly

    giuly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a dedicated server but I would to modify password of user of database directly from cpanel, how can I do?


    I previously on site and on cpanel I have created a database without user, so I have installed zencart, and so if I would to modify the password of files config of zen cart I modified the password of cpanel (in general, ftp password), and then I modified the password (the same) on config of zen cart.

    Now I have installed a new database and a new version of zen cart and now I have created a database and a user associated, so if I now modify the password of ftp (cpanel) and config of zencart it doesn't go now.

    So I would to know if it is possible to modify password of user of db from cpanel?

    Or if I delete the user without loss of data of database?

    Please.
    Thank you in advance
     
  2. Silver_2000

    Silver_2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    you should be able to delete the sql user with no data loss

    just delete the user and create new one with known password
     
  3. Silver_2000

    Silver_2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    zen cart will need a user to be able to add to or read the database

    but NO you dont HAVE to add a user to a database - I dont think you will be able to use it without a user but thats not what you asked
     
  4. giuly

    giuly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you it goes perfectly.

    Another question, but if I don't insert a user for database is the same?
    Can I have (for safe for example) the database without user?

    Thank you very much
    :)


    confirm that I am able to use without user associated.
     
    #4 giuly, Feb 10, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page