Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How to change SSL cert for WHM server itself?

Discussion in 'Security' started by jason404, Aug 30, 2018.

1. jason404

jason404 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi. I am setting up an WHM server on AWS for a client. I've never used WHM/cPanel before, but I am experienced with Linux servers.

The server has automatically installed an SSL/TLS certificate for the server's hostname, but I want to install a free wildcard cert from Let's Encrypt.

$ sudo /scripts/install_lets_encrypt_autossl_provider

I ran that script and selected Let's Encrypt as the certificate provider. Now what do I do to replace the server's own certificate? When I try the regular way in the terminal using CertBot I get an error saying that mod_ssl is not enabled in Apache, even though it is enabled in WHM, but I cannot alter the Apache configuration because of WHM.

2. jason404

jason404 Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The only way I can think of so far is to change DNS records so that the domain is used on another non-WHM server and to make the certificates there and then change the records back and somehow install them on the WHM server (using the web interface), but I would like to avoid having to do that.

#2 jason404, Aug 31, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2018
  3. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @jason404,

You can install a new certificate for your server's services using the following option:

WHM Home » Service Configuration » Manage Service SSL Certificates