The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to change the domain name for the existing cPanel account?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by virtualreality, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. virtualreality

    virtualreality Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi cPanel Friends,

    I want to change my existing site's domain name that is also the domain name for my existing cPanel account. So I have to change the domain name for the existing cPanel account.

    In the WHM's section for the cPanel account's modification, can I simply change my old, existing (established) domain with my new domain and click the "Save" button?

    Are there any negative effects on the existing cPanel account and on the existing website that is based on the existing cPanel?

    Will the domain change hurt the installed, customized website script in the cPanel account?

    Please advise me!

    Thank you very much from my heart!

    Dave
     
    #1 virtualreality, Apr 29, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2010
  2. Alejandro P

    Alejandro P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, first check new domain is not parked domain or addon domain on the server.

    Then go to WHM -> Account functions -> Modify an account

    You can easily change the domain name on the account, do not attempt to change the username, that could broke your scripts configuration as databases use that username.

    That's it, there is no drawbacks on changing the domain name, even the statistics for the old domain are keep on the account.
     
  3. virtualreality

    virtualreality Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks Alejandro for your help!

    Yes, in the domain's cPanel account I do have an established database to which I feel worried about any possible damage, if I change the existing cPanel account's domain.

    Any more advices on the domain change for some detailed aspects are highly appreciated!
     
  4. thewebhostingdi

    thewebhostingdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Changing only the domain name cannot affects to your database. However, if you change the username of the account then there will be a chance of loosing the database. Hence, do not change the account username.
     
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should know that "Modify an Account" does not update everything that needs to be updated to rename an account and you have to manually go in and fix things in the system or you will have a few underlying things broken behind the scenes when you do that.

    The alternative if you are not comfortable with system level editing would be to create a new account with the new name and transfer your files and databases over to that new account.
     
  6. virtualreality

    virtualreality Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you very much Friends for your advices!

    It's the first time for me to do the cPanel domain change so I need to know things about the cPanel domain change to make sure the domain change will be proper and smooth.

    Again, thank you very much for help!
     
Loading...

Share This Page