The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED How to change whm domain name

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by umefrevr, Feb 28, 2017.

Tags:
  1. umefrevr

    umefrevr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi

    How can I change the WHM domain name for eg srv.olddomain.com:2087 to srv.newdomain.com:2087?
    How cpanel licensing will be transferred to newdomain?

    Please help.

    Thanks
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,620
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. umefrevr

    umefrevr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How I will change the nameservers? Changing hostname will not change namsevers. The olddomain is expiring today.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,620
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You'll need to create new nameservers at your Domain Name Registrar and then add them to your WHM:
    WebHost Manager »Server Configuration »Basic WebHost Manager® Setup
     
  5. umefrevr

    umefrevr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I did all these changes. Do I need to restart server to changes to take effects?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,620
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You do need to wait for the new domain and DNS changes to propagate if it hasn't yet.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,086
    Likes Received:
    1,288
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. umefrevr

    umefrevr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Below is the status of domain. Its still not opening in browser.
    - Removed -
    SOA

    No nameservers provided an SOA record for the zone. You should configure your nameservers to have a master slave relationship. The update of the zone information to the slave nameservers should be handled through the SOA record.

    MX

    No MX records exist within the zone. This is legal, but if you want to receive E-mail on this domain, you should have MX record(s). The program can't continue in a case like this, so we are assuming you don't receive mail on this domain.
    WWW
     
    #8 umefrevr, Feb 28, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 1, 2017
  9. umefrevr

    umefrevr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I fixed it. Just for others information. You will need to reduce ttl time in edit dns zone settings to dns to propagate fast.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,620
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks for updating your thread with the outcome. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page