The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to change www.domain.com/cpanel to /something_else

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kickedmydog, Aug 6, 2005.

  1. kickedmydog

    kickedmydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    Been using Cpanel for almost one year and have enjoyed the ease of use so far with some minor hiccups along the way.

    I have followed all the security advice and have everything pretty locked down but I want one last thing to have complete piece of mind.

    Does anyone know how to change the ports and the /cpanel & /whm to something different ?
    This would be a very good step to becoming very secure.


    Thanks,

    Brad
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    To change the /cpanel and /whm, you want to edit the httpd.conf file, but each time you add a new account, that part gets rewritten. You would need to use a postwwwacct script to rewrite the changes you want.
     
  3. kickedmydog

    kickedmydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    RE: Extra site security


    Thanks for the reply. Do you think it would be a good idea to do that?

    Would it be easier just to find out where the varibles for cpanel and whm are and change them so next time an account is created it is automaticly set to the new directory?
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I'm pretty sure that would be built into the raw code and not changeable.
     
  5. kickedmydog

    kickedmydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Who would you direct correspondance regarding this question to?
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    You can contact them at billing at cpanel .net.
     
  7. Almighty

    Almighty Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Couldnt you just add a Alias in the httpd.conf to redirect to either /cpanel or the ports themselves. That way you dont need to worry about changing the wwwacct code and people can still access it at /cpanel.
     
  8. kickedmydog

    kickedmydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Missunderstood

    Goal was to do away with domain.com/cpanel to something else that you wanted to make it more secure so robot hackers can't find cpanel easily....

    For example if you had a company called kickingdogshosting and you wanted the cpanel to be accessed by www.mydomain.com/kickedmydog
     
  9. shashank

    shashank Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    whatever you do, cpanel will add back /cpanel entries to httpd.conf with a cpanel update again.
     
  10. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    all you are speaking of is an alias that redirects to a port. The ports cannot change so anything you are doing here will not stop what you want.
     
Loading...

Share This Page