The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to configure mod sec to work with geo ip

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by jpcsguru, Jun 8, 2015.

  1. jpcsguru

    jpcsguru Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hi,
    Can I be advised exact path to put in mod sec config section for this
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    huma1985 likes this.
  3. jpcsguru

    jpcsguru Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Your access level is listed as "Website Owner". Are you sure you have root access to this system? Also, are you making a custom ruleset or using a vendor such as OWASP?

    Thank you.
     
  5. jpcsguru

    jpcsguru Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi,
    I am system Admin/ website owner using OWASP ruleset.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You should not have to manually configure any GeoIP rules if you are using the OWASP rule set. However, note you may encounter compatibility issues if you are using Mod_Ruid2 or MPM-ITK.

    Thank you.
     
  7. jpcsguru

    jpcsguru Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Michael,
    we are not using Mod_Ruid2 or MPM-ITK, how do manually configure them?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you elaborate further on this question? Could you verify that you have "root" access to the server?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page