The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to copy a reseller?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Curto, Oct 19, 2003.

  1. Curto

    Curto Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY, USA
    How can I transfer a reseller and all his clients from another server to mine? He has _his_ whm login, and I have root access on my server.

    What is the correct procedure and is there anything I need to look out for?
     
  2. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That feature is not yet available. All account transfers are treated as regular hosting accounts. So you do the transfer and then, on the new server, manually make the adjust to turn the account back into a Reseller account.
     
  3. Curto

    Curto Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY, USA
    How can I put the accounts under the reseller account again tho?
     
  4. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First transfer the Reseller account and re-create their packages plus set them up as Reseller account. Then transfer over their sub-accounts and manually do what needs to be done, to pub them back as Reseller sub-accounts.

    Lots of time & effort involved here so it's best to take your time when doing it and double check everything afterwards.
     
  5. Curto

    Curto Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY, USA
    What I'm asking is, after transferring all the accounts over seperately, including the one that needs to be reseller. I make the reseller account back into a reseller account.... but then how exactly do I put the under accounts under that one?
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    In WHM, use "Change ownership of an account".
     
Loading...

Share This Page