The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to copy large account from another cpanel server

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by scally, Jan 11, 2007.

  1. scally

    scally Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Folsom, California
    I want to copy an account to a new server.
    The problem is, the account is large. The zipped backup file is 3.9Gb
    The complete account is 8Gb

    From what I've read, thats too big to use the standard
    "Copy an account from another server" script in WHM

    Is that true? - I've neven moved an account over 600Mb

    If that is so, how could I get cpanel to copy the account
    in exactly the same way, but not actually transfer all the
    files (I would want it to do everything else including
    duplicating the ftp accounts and databases.

    The main things I'm interested in getting are all the
    complex and time consuming things like databases and ftp accounts.

    Is there a way?
    I've seen the PHP cpanel API - will that work?
    - or should I just try the account copy?
     
  2. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Make a cpanel backup of the account you want to move. Ftp that backup to /home or /root on the new server, (We usually log into ssh then from /root open ftp, then ftp to the site where the backup is and get backup.tar.gz) then go to WHM Main >> Backup >> Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file and type in the username.

    This should take care of the data and FTP and MySQL. I have seen it skip add-on domains.
     
  3. scally

    scally Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Folsom, California
    Thanks
    I think there only one problem with that idea
    The gzipped tarfile of the whole account is 8Gb
    so won't the cpanel backup be close to the same?
    As far as I know, you can't ftp a file over 1Gb
     
  4. jonMEGA

    jonMEGA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have moved a 13GB account from one CPanel server to another. I used ssh and scp to move the backup file.
     
  5. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The most efficient way is to split your file into multiple smaller files.
    you can then upload several threads simultaneously and save some
    time if the upload speed is throttled.

    anyway... dont forget to do checksum and compare it after you
    join it back.

    example...

    split -b 500000000 backup.tar.gz backup.tar.gz

    (this will split your backup into 500 meg parts with the backup name and
    suffix of gzaa, gzab etc etc)

    on the destination server join them back with the cat command.

    cat backup.tar.gz?? > backup.tar.gz

    (that will combine it back)

    then do your md5sum to be sure its clean.

    cheers!!
     
  6. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  7. scally

    scally Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Folsom, California
    Thank you.
    I really appreciate all the info.
    I will let you know how it goes.

    Alan.
     
  8. scally

    scally Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Folsom, California
    I transferred a 2Gb account - still preparing the 10Gb account

    This is what I did:
    Both are cpanel, in the same data centre
    On the new machine, I selected
    Main >> Transfers >> Copy an account from another server with account password

    This let the originating machine package the account and all the dbs abd ftp accounts, mail etc.
    The account was too big to transfer, so cPanel splits it into 100Mb parts
    Cpanel actually transferred the whole thing to the new server, using FTP
    Thats where it failed, so I just used

    Main >> Backup >> Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file

    - and it was perfect

    So last night, I did the same on the newsblaze.com (10Gb ) account.
    cPanel split the data into 94 100Mb parts, but it failed to ftp them to the new machine
    So thats where I am now, ftping the parts.

    I used scp - it was really good. 5MB/second and around 20 seconds per part.


    Alan
     
    #8 scally, Jan 13, 2007
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page