The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to crash your server using cPanel in one easy step

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by myusername, Dec 16, 2004.

  1. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    How to crash (and fix) your server using cPanel in one easy step

    Have one of your resellers use the modify account function and change the username of an account.

    You will now see that you have cheerfully crashed Apache because it has made a very bad (but close) entry in the group file.

    Restarting it from WHM does not do it.

    So SSH in and type service httpd restart

    You will get an error similar to:

    restart failed bad group soandso

    So pico /etc/group

    ctrl+w and find the group httpd is complaining about and fix it.

    If you had to apply this fix, please post in this thread so others (cPanel) have an idea the problem is still lingering. I'd really like to enable the option to modify an account to our resellers again.
     
    #1 myusername, Dec 16, 2004
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2005
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    :) Hopefully we will have to wait for them to reply.
     
  3. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    bugzilla is probably the easiest way to track bugs for a software project this large and distributed... Do you think these forums are easier for them to keep track of for bugs and complaints?
     
  4. xploit

    xploit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well,i'm one of those who picked up cpanel for it's wide distribution and greater sales expectations.but for sure not for it's stability!
    i think they should take more time fixing bugs and preparing before launching another new version,that'll make cpanel the best,for it owns the features but lakes stability and security.
     
  5. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I do not think security is entirely cpanel's job, but it is not bad IMO at least it is a help when you have a lot of servers. What is their responsibility is to make sure that if a function that can bring a server to its knees in one click does not exist in any WHM other than say EDGE. Definately not in a stable release.

    This is a confirmed issue on Centos and Fedora OS.

    dezignguy: I posted in the forum in the event someone else is having issues getting apache restarted can do it quickly since it took me about 15 minutes of trying to remember how I fixed it the first time it happened.

    The first time it happened took much longer than 15 minutes to fix since the research had to be done and there was no information on the subject at the time that I found.

    Hopefully I will save someone a headache.
     
    #5 myusername, Dec 18, 2004
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2006
  6. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was simply responding to this:

     
  7. xploit

    xploit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    and that's what i meant by security.i didn't mean securing our servers,i just emant securing their own code !
    i'm not gonna compare it to other control panels here cause it could be against the rules.but some other CPs do take care of that aspect.
    they already have a feature-rich product.so clean your code and do enough testing then keep on releasing other versions.
    anyways,wishing the best for cpanel ,wishing the best for all of us :)
     
  8. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hehe,

    just had this problem.
    Apache down for 4 hours - I was sleeping.

    So I guess it's not fixed yet.
    One reseller used that feature
     
  9. richy

    richy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
  10. RyanNSA

    RyanNSA Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Really appriciate this post myusername. I just encountered this problem and this post helped me out of it :)
     
  11. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Still not fixed - this is very bad.
    Happened again yesterday
     
  12. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    You should probably open a new bugzilla on this and definitely report it to cpanel through a trouble ticket, since bug 260 is now closed and does not appear like it will be re-opened. Might ask them to re-open bug 260 in your ticket instead of opening a new one which will end up on the bottom of the BZ list.
     
  13. theuruguayan

    theuruguayan Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i can confirm it is a issue in rhel. should we open a new bug ticket?
     
  14. djmerlyn

    djmerlyn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just had this issue crop up here too :eek:

    Poop, this thread and the bug reports are old enough that it should have been cleaned up by now eh? :confused:
     
  15. theuruguayan

    theuruguayan Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    well. trust me, i have confirm today, the bug is still there.
     
  16. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    You should open a support ticket first asking them to reopen bug 260.
     
  17. Insyder

    Insyder Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just throwing up another confirmed sighting of this...fixed by editing the /etc/group as suggested.
     
  18. evps

    evps Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Let down by cPanel, what else is new

    This happened to us. We run RHEL 4.

    We will be disabling the Modify account feature until this is resolved. We are extremely dissapointed with cPanel and their lack of commitment to their customers.

    I feel let down.

    PartnerNOC? LOL :cool:
     
  19. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    If you read the bug report on this (one of the first bug reports of several thousand now) found in the new bugzilla, apparently it will be fixed in the newest stable due very soon, hopefully.
     
  20. Voltio

    Voltio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Happened to me today, fixed it as mentioned on top of Page 1 of X
     
Loading...

Share This Page