The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to create MySQL database by using Cpanel?

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Oleks, Jun 29, 2004.

  1. Oleks

    Oleks Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    I am testing my vBulletin forum on my deck top (as a local host).
    I’d like to install vBulletin to the server and trying to
    transfer my database from local host to the server.

    How to create MySQL database on server by using Cpanel?

    Please, give detail instruction for newbie.

    Thank you.
     
  2. jariax

    jariax Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Whitehorse
    OK, I just figured this out myself about five minutes ago.

    1) Log into CPanel
    2) Click on My AQL Databases
    3) Near the top, you'll see a textbox right after the words: MYSQL Database.
    4) Enter the new name of your database into the textbox
    5) Click the "Create MySQL Database" button

    Finished.
     
  3. Oleks

    Oleks Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    jariax,

    How to check do I have preset MYSQL Database by my Host provider?

    Thank you.
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    preset ??

    do u mean u want to kno if you have the database facility ?

    if so u can try creating one and an error will flag.

    i could have helped if you have been more clear.
     
  5. Oleks

    Oleks Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    The point is that my host provider is not really cooperative.
    I am able to create MySQL database through cPanel.
    I am able to add user to MySQL database through cPanel.

    But, I can not get MySQL server name from my Host and I can not see Folder of my database to upload database.

    Any idea how to upload MySQL database only with that information which a have from cPanel?

    Thank you.
     
  6. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    In all likelyhood you should use

    localhost

    as your MySQL host address when setting up applications. There is no "folder" for you to upload databases to.
     
  7. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    absolutely ... SarcNBit is right...

    Oleks .. the concept of mysql database is different.. you will have to create tables. However you can use the phpmyadmin availabel with your c-panel at the mysql control center to help create the database.

    Hope this helps.. lemme kno in case u have any further issues.
     
Loading...

Share This Page