The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to create new cpanel account if DNS already exists in DNS-Only cluster?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by electric, Aug 20, 2014.

  1. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello,

    We have multiple shared hosting servers connected to a DNS-Only cluster. An existing customer who has "domain.com" wants to create an account on a different server, for the same domain, and use it as a failover account.

    ie: If primary domain.com IP is down, then they'll modify their DNS so that domain.com points to the backup account on another server.

    The problem is that the WHM account creation system is not allowing the "domain.com" account to be created because domain.com already exists within our DNS-Only cluster.

    How can we get the second "domain.com" account created, even if it already exists on another server?

    Thanks.
     
  2. SS-Maddy

    SS-Maddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello

    A simple work around would be to create an account with a dummy name ie "domain123.com". Once it is configured, remove the dns zone file for the new domain from the cluster and then change the domain name in the hosting server using the "modify account" option.
     
  3. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Using the "modify account" process to change the domain name will trigger a DNS zonefile for the "new" domain name to be created in the cluster. Then the "modify account" process will fail for the same reason as it can't create a new account -- a zonefile for the "new" domain already exists.
     
  4. SS-Maddy

    SS-Maddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello

    Changing the DNS setup on the hosting server to "Standalone" for a small interval and removing the DNS zone file after creation and then change to the cluster set up might help.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It's generally not advised to have the same domain name on multiple servers in the same cluster. Instead, as mentioned in a previous post, temporarily disable clustering and then modify the second account to a different domain name.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page