How to create private Nameservers for reseller acc. - Basic server config.

Brovashift

Member
Jan 31, 2014
8
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Reseller Owner
Hi all,

I am hoping someone can help me here because I am pulling my hair out trying to figure this out.

I have a reseller hosting account and want to set private nameservers in order to provide my own branding, but I cannot figure out how to do it as all the info online shows a different setup to what I have.

Can I do this myself, or do I need to register e.g. ns1.mysite.com with my provider?

All of the tutorials I can find online talk about adding nameservers in one or more of the 4 boxes and use the Assign IP button / Add an entry for this nameserver buttons for the other steps, but I dont have these buttons in my WHM control panel. I am using WHM Accelorated 2 CP.

I only have the "Basic server config" option available: image below -

nameserver.JPG


If someone can enlighten me I would be very much appreciated..

Thank you
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,201
363
Hello :)

Name servers must be registered at the domain registrar of the domain name you are creating the name servers for. There is a guide on how to do this at most common registrars here:

cPanel - Register Private Name Servers

Then, in WHM, ensure you enter your name servers under the "Basic cPanel and WHM Setup" page so they are used in the DNS zone of new accounts. The only other thing you have to configure on the cPanel server is the "A" records for the NS entries by using the "Edit DNS Zone" option in WHM.

Thank you.
 

Brovashift

Member
Jan 31, 2014
8
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Reseller Owner
Hello :)

Name servers must be registered at the domain registrar of the domain name you are creating the name servers for. There is a guide on how to do this at most common registrars here:

cPanel - Register Private Name Servers

Then, in WHM, ensure you enter your name servers under the "Basic cPanel and WHM Setup" page so they are used in the DNS zone of new accounts. The only other thing you have to configure on the cPanel server is the "A" records for the NS entries by using the "Edit DNS Zone" option in WHM.

Thank you.
Hi cPanelMichael,

Thank you for that. I will check this out tomorrow.

The domain for my web hosting reseller website is registered with my reseller hosting providers, which are in asia and are celebrating the Chinese New Year at the moment, so support for this to register will probably have to wait until the 4th! :( I know I know... bad support!!

Once I have done this and registered my nameservers with my provider, when assigning new accounts I will just provide my customers with my created custom nameserver.. yes? So all my customers will point there domains towards e.g. ns1.mySite.com.

Thanks for your help.
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,201
363
Once I have done this and registered my nameservers with my provider, when assigning new accounts I will just provide my customers with my created custom nameserver.. yes? So all my customers will point there domains towards e.g. ns1.mySite.com
Yes, that is correct.

Thanks.
 

Brovashift

Member
Jan 31, 2014
8
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Reseller Owner
Yes, that is correct.

Thanks.
Well, I have had fun trying to get these working lol :confused:

I missed out the part where I should have created the 'A' records, but have done this now.

Do I need to create the 'A' records for each domain' DNS zone, or just the main (my) domain?

Thanks.

I should have come back here sooner! :)
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,201
363
Do I need to create the 'A' records for each domain' DNS zone, or just the main (my) domain?
You only create the "A" records for your NS entries that you have registered at the domain registrar. This is not for each domain name, but rather for each domain name that you have created custom NS entries for.

Thank you.