How to disable Full cPanel Backups

johnbw

Registered
Jul 19, 2007
4
0
51
Hello,

I'm wondering if there's a way to completely disable 'full cpanel backups' from a clients' cpanel, if you have root access to WHM (and the client only has cpanel access) so that they cannot create or access full backups without requesting the server administrator. Can this be done from within WHM? I couldn't find anything under Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings.

I've noticed at times while transferring accounts from other servers that the full cpbackup file cannot be accessed, while it works on others. This indicates that they've somehow blocked access to this file. I'd like to know how this can be done...

I'd appreciate any help in this regard.
 

cPanelKenneth

cPanel Development
Staff member
Apr 7, 2006
4,607
79
458
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello,

I'm wondering if there's a way to completely disable 'full cpanel backups' from a clients' cpanel, if you have root access to WHM (and the client only has cpanel access) so that they cannot create or access full backups without requesting the server administrator. Can this be done from within WHM? I couldn't find anything under Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings.

I've noticed at times while transferring accounts from other servers that the full cpbackup file cannot be accessed, while it works on others. This indicates that they've somehow blocked access to this file. I'd like to know how this can be done...

I'd appreciate any help in this regard.
You can only disable the backup feature completely. This is done by editing the feature list for the account(s) in question an unchecking the backup fature.
 

HastyHost.com

Member
Jun 20, 2007
11
0
51
I think he's asking how you can just disable that one feature, as I'd like to know to.

I don't want to disable backups completely, just that one part about generating a full backup.
 

cPanelKenneth

cPanel Development
Staff member
Apr 7, 2006
4,607
79
458
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I think he's asking how you can just disable that one feature, as I'd like to know to.

I don't want to disable backups completely, just that one part about generating a full backup.
The only way at this time is to 'fake' it by modifying the theme so the option doesn't appear. The functionality would still work, hence if someone typed the URL manually, it would work.