The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to disable mrtg ???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by R_15, Oct 17, 2004.

  1. R_15

    R_15 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi

    i have a server with this features:

    Processor Info

    Processor #1 Vendor: AuthenticAMD
    Processor #1 Name: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2000+
    Processor #1 speed: 1666.399 MHz
    Processor #1 cache size: 256 KB


    Memory Information
    Memory: 220908k/229312k available (1334k kernel code, 6232k reserved, 1001k data, 132k init, 0k highmem)


    System Information
    Linux sp0112a.serverpronto.com 2.4.20-35.9.legacy #1 Tue Jul 6 03:42:27 EDT 2004 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux


    Physical Drives
    hda: WDC WD400BB-75FRA0, ATA DISK drive
    hda: attached ide-disk driver.
    hda: host protected area => 1
    hda: 78125000 sectors (40000 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=4863/255/63, UDMA(100)


    and i want to disable the mrtg, because it use to much resources andthe load of my server is always about 40 or 30 :s

    and i only have 10 website hosted and conting all the websites the number of visitors is not higher that 5000

    look how much use this process:


    Top Process %CPU 22.0 /usr/bin/perl /usr/bin/mrtg /etc/mrtg/mrtg.cfg
    Top Process %CPU 21.0 /usr/bin/perl /usr/bin/mrtg /etc/mrtg/mrtg.cfg


    i wnat to delete it

    but i don't know how to doed

    plz help me!!
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You might prefer to disable it rather than deleting in the event you want to use it again?
    Assuming Linux:
    Edit /etc/mrtg/mrtg.cfg - change "RunAsDameon:Yes" to No.
    Then "killproc mrtg -9"
     
  3. R_15

    R_15 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    my /etc/mrtg/mrtg.cfg says this:




    ######################################################################
    # Multi Router Traffic Grapher -- Example Configuration File
    ######################################################################
    # This file is for use with mrtg-2.0
    #
    # Note:
    #
    # * Keywords must start at the begin of a line.
    #
    # * Lines which follow a keyword line which do start
    # with a blank are appended to the keyword line
    #
    # * Empty Lines are ignored
    #
    # * Lines starting with a # sign are comments.

    # Where should the logfiles, and webpages be created?

    # Minimal mrtg.cfg
    #--------------------

    WorkDir: /var/www/html/mrtg
    #Target[r1]: 2:public@myrouter.somplace.edu
    #MaxBytes[r1]: 1250000
    #Title[r1]: Traffic Analysis
    #PageTop[r1]: <H1>Stats for our Ethernet</H1>
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    rpm -e mrtg <- that should remove it for you.
     
  5. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You might want to be careful with that. There was a bug where without mrtg, cpanellogd (I believe) spawned indefinitely.

    mrtg is used by cPanel. Should find out why it's using so much resources, rather than just removing it.
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Nickn, I believe its rrdtool that cpanel requires not mrtg.
     
  7. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ah..you're right.
     
  8. R_15

    R_15 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    root@sp0112a [~]# rpm -e mrtg
    error: package mrtg is not installed


    :S
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I'll have a go ;)

    Here's a run down of everywhere I can think for you to look logged in as root:

    rm /etc/cron.d/mrtg
    service mrtg stop
    chkconfig mrtg off
    killall mrtg


    Also:

    crontab -e

    If there are any lines running mrtg, delete them.

    That usually covers it :)

    Note: You might get errors with one or more of the above, depending on how mrtg is running, but if at least one works, you should be rid of it.
     
  10. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yep get rid of it, too much server load...
     
Loading...

Share This Page