The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to disable (Not delete) add-on domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Custom-Hosting, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. Custom-Hosting

    Custom-Hosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hey,

    I am having a problem with a domain / script using too many resources (Entry processes) and I need to find out which site is causing the problem.

    I just want to disable add-on domains and bring them back 1 by 1 so I can find out which is causing the problem - Can I do this without deleting the folders?

    The scripts are still running in the background through cron jobs or automatic scripts so I need to check which it is.

    Thanks for any help
     
  2. Custom-Hosting

    Custom-Hosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hey Michael,

    Thanks for the reply.

    Unfortunately I don't have WHM with this host - It is on a shared account and I have just done add-ons - Is there any way I can do it on cPanel?

    Thanks again
     
  3. Ishware

    Ishware Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Panama City, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check out the thread posted — there is a solution mentioned that doesn't rely on WHM.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    649
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's not possible to suspend an individual addon domain name, however you can add custom rules to the .htaccess file within it's document root to disable public access to the domain name, as referenced in the linked thread.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Custom-Hosting

    Custom-Hosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks for the reply - I would be able to just rename the folders so users couldn't visit the sites, but I specifically want to stop the site running any scripts or crons so I can find out what site is causing the problem - I think it is a wordpress site but I don't know which, if it is.

    Is this possible?

    Thanks
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    649
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can't kill processes without root access to the system, but disabling the website by moving the files from the document root should accomplish what you are seeking to do.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page