Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How to disallow cPanel to use extra IPs?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Xhuljo Skendaj, Jan 16, 2018.

  1. Xhuljo Skendaj

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Albania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have some extra IPs on my server, but i won't use them all for cPanel, sadly when i setup those extra IPs some ports will used automatically by cPanel (apache and other stuff)

    Meanwhile i just did "ifup eth1" i didn't tried ti add it from WHM
    After that if i try to visit port :80 i see cPanel default page, From WHM at "Show or Delete Current IP Addresses" i can see eth1 but there is no option to remove it, i think in that place i can see all NICs who are up, but i can remove them only when i add them to cPanel from WHM.

    So all what i want is to use one ip for a different thing i won't allow cPanel to use ports of all other IPs which i have on my server, how can i do that? cPanel does not use just port :80, but all other ports can be accessed from all extra IPs which i have
    Code:
    Host is up (0.0000040s latency).
    Not shown: 986 closed ports
    PORT     STATE SERVICE
    21/tcp   open  ftp
    22/tcp   open  ssh
    25/tcp   open  smtp
    53/tcp   open  domain
    80/tcp   open  http
    110/tcp  open  pop3
    111/tcp  open  rpcbind
    143/tcp  open  imap
    443/tcp  open  https
    465/tcp  open  smtps
    587/tcp  open  submission
    993/tcp  open  imaps
    995/tcp  open  pop3s
    3306/tcp open  mysql
    
    Thank you.
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,813
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    By default the bindings are like 0.0.0.0:2086 and etc, so it binds to all the IPs available on the server irrespective of what ethernet it is on..

    If you want to have some IPs to not listen to these port, then it is better to use firewall to block the connection on that port for those IPs only. You can install CSF on your server and use /etc/csf.allow or /etc/csf.deny lists to disable it..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Xhuljo Skendaj likes this.
  3. Xhuljo Skendaj

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Albania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yes i know that it binds 0.0.0.0 so i was thinking maybe there is a way to change that and set the ip not 0.0.0.0!
    that's the reason why i posted here because i want to use one extra ip for something else and not just blocking ports :/ !
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,889
    Likes Received:
    1,814
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Xhuljo Skendaj likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice