The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Edit/hide/delete features

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by baboy, Jul 26, 2003.

  1. baboy

    baboy Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Have contacted Cpanel but gotten no response on how to edit Cpanel features.
    I need to remove certain features for my different packages, for example:

    Package= Basic
    need to hide/delete the following features:

    Cron Jobs
    Agora Shopping Cart
    Manage OpenPGP keys

    How can this be done ?

    Thank you very much.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Domenico

    Domenico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Cpanel is working on a feature manager but I don't know when that will be working. i do hope it will support the xskin instead of the older skins.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. baboy

    baboy Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We are also hosted at burst.net
    Unfortunately we cannot setup any reseler hosting on our server untill we can edit the features in Cpanel.
    Even called Cpanel several times and they always referred me to their documentation which does not address the issue.

    Does anyone know of a Cpanel replacement with editable features !

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    Try using the feature manager.

    It's there, and may be pretty well done. Just test it out.

    Also, you can edit out the html files of the skins not to include those, and you could even nullify the programs for those....

    Brenden

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    Also rvskin and some other skins allow you to turn off features for resellers down to the users.

    www.rvskin.com

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was also wondering how to do this. I have to make a skin and was thinking if there wasn't anyway to hide certain features, I'd have to go and make three seperate skins for our three different hosting plans. For example, the basic plan doesn't include support for MySQL. Therefore it should be that only users on the basic plan cannot view the info on MySQL, such as amount of databases or pages to create additional usernames/databases.

    I find it hard to believe that as long as cPanel has been out and all the customers they have, that this isn't supported, or at least very well known.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    feature manager has been in WHM for months now and works great. It has changed my life. Now my packages contain only what I want them to contain .. on the package level. Give people a reason to upgrade to higher plan.

    Try using it .. no problems yet that I have seen.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just tried out Feature Manager for the first time and it looks like it works great. Will it work on ANY skin, even custom made ones, or just skins that have a functionality built into them to support this?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    just skins that have it built in.

    x and xmail x2 I know of for sure :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do you or anybody else know how to incorporate this into a custom made skin?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    And, feature manager does not work with the default theme!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. exahost

    exahost Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK, that works great for the features but how can I disable the "View Server Status" feature in the X skins?

    I receive more meaningless support calls about this when logs are running, for example and the load is over 1.00. There is something that sets a cutomer off when they see a flashing red light even though it is nothing to worry about.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. exahost

    exahost Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    *bump*

    anybody?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. MySundown

    MySundown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You could always just change the number in WHM. I have mine set to 3. 1.00 is nothing. Above 3 is when something is wrong. Some servers can perform fine with even higher loads.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. exahost

    exahost Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks! That works great!

    :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do I understand correctly that this is the setting being referred to:

    Tweak Settings >> Stats Log Level (default is 1) [0...5]:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. WillyMore

    WillyMore Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The load average that will cause the server status to appear red (leave blank for default):

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks. So easy to sometimes miss the obvious. ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!
    xController has it!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page