The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to edit the maxconnection in httpd.conf ?

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by cmedia, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. cmedia

    cmedia Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    i own a server with cpanel-whm.

    I have to edit to optimize the max connection in the httpd.conf and maybe others variable.

    I read this guide: cPanel - The Easy Apache Configuration System - Adding Custom Directives to httpd.conf

    Anyway, i guess the maxconnection is a variable ALREADY in the default httpd.conf, so i guess use the custom directive will not help me, or i mistake and cpanel will use my custon directive maxconnection instead of the default one who are already in the httpd.conf?

    Best regards.
     
    #1 cmedia, Jul 21, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2009
  2. david510

    david510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You need to edit the value of the parameter MaxClients.
     
  3. cmedia

    cmedia Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, where? and how?

    I mean if i can't use the "Custom Directive" how i can edit?
     
  4. ChrisRHS

    ChrisRHS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Easiest way is to use the "Include Editor" for Apache. Just add in your value in the "Post VirtualHost Include" section.

    MaxClients number
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Depending on the cPanel version, you can modify the setting in WHM > Apache Configuration > Global Configuration > MaxClients
     
  6. cmedia

    cmedia Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So, will owerwrite the default value? :D

    Is not this parameter here... i have to upgrade my cpanel to see it?
     
  7. david510

    david510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Login to the ssh as root and open the file httpd.conf file.

    vi /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
    search for the line MaxClients and edit that, save it and exit vi editor. Restart apache then

    service httpd restart
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you do not distill these changes will not be saved.

    OutsideVHost < EasyApache3 < TWiki
     

Share This Page