The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to enable SSH access for user root on virtuozzo VPS centos ??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by crazyaboutlinux, Dec 12, 2011.

  1. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    I am sorry i have posted this thread at wrong place.

    How to enable SSH access for user root on virtuozzo VPS

    WHM 11.30.5 (build 2)
    CENTOS 5.7 x86_64 virtuozzo on server1

    I do have both "WHM" and "virtuozzo panel" root login credentials
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Root access to SSH should be enabled by default. Are you having any specific problems when attempting to access the server over SSH as root?

    Thank you.
     
  3. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i am getting error like Access denied
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have access to the machine to get onto it otherwise via "vzctl enter ID#" in the main host node on the machine, try checking the /etc/ssh/sshd_config file to see if direct root login is allowed or not:

    Code:
    PermitRootLogin yes
    If it is set to no or commented out, you likely aren't allowing direct root login.

    If you do not have access to check that file, you would need to contact your provider, datacenter or NOC for further assistance. In all reality, they should be your first line of support for system administrative questions on the basics of using Linux.
     
  5. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In many cases, if you are in virtulization environment you may need to re-install openssh package.
    Try with that if root is enabled for ssh.
     
  6. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    root is not enabled for ssh, read the title of this thread "How to enable SSH access for user root on virtuozzo VPS centos ?? "
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you contacted your datacenter, NOC or provider yet about the issue?
     
  8. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I do not have access to the machine, but i do have access of virtuozzo panel https://myserverip:4643/vz/cp
    can i do this from this virtuozzo panel ??
     
  9. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have root WHM access, you can give a user SSH access, add that user to the wheel group, then connect to the server as that user (using SSH), and when you get connected you su to root. Then you edit /etc/ssh/sshd_config, eable root login and restart sshd.
     
  10. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks! Bro thanks for the solution,

    Hi Tristan, I have done it! without taking help of datacenter, NOC or provider
     
    #10 crazyaboutlinux, Dec 13, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page