The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to get checkboxes for precpbackup & postcpbackup to show in WHM?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by sneader, Mar 3, 2013.

  1. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    On all but one of my servers I have, under Backup > Configure Backup:

    Execute Pre/Post Backup Script
    [x] /scripts/precpbackup
    [x] /scripts/postcpbackup

    On one server, those checkboxes are missing. I read somewhere that if I create /scripts/precpbackup and /scripts/postcpbackup that it will then magically show up, but after touching both files, then going back to the Configure Backup screen, those checkboxes are not there.

    Further, I added some commands to /scripts/postcpbackup, and after the nightly backup last night, it did not fire (based on looking in the backup log at /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup.

    Clearly I'm missing something, but I don't know what it is. Thoughts?

    - Scott
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,480
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi Scott, check permissions on the files for the magic. :)
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,480
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I enabled this on a server with backups not enabled yesterday. This morning I got this note from the server:

     
  4. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You earned the ability to retain the title of Infopro! Indeed, it was a permissions problem. The instructions I read simply said to create /scripts/postcpbackup and the magic would occur. They neglected to say that the file needed 755 permissions. As soon as I changed it, BOOM it shows up!

    Thank you kind sir. I look forward to buying your first Cake Vodka in New Orleans (if you survive Germany)

    - Scott
     
    #4 sneader, Mar 5, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2013
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,480
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

Share This Page