Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How to get linux console from WHM/cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sameerkumar15, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. sameerkumar15

    sameerkumar15 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hi everyone,

    Can anybody tell me how can I get linux console( like /usr/appl/ ....) from WHM/cPanel. I want to ftp one zip file and extract it in linux from WHM.

    Thanks in advance.
    SAMEER
     
  2. C4talyst

    C4talyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    I'm rather new to cPanel too, however, sounds like you just want normal ssh access...right? Do you have root or other shell access to the server?
     
  3. sameerkumar15

    sameerkumar15 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I have the root access, but not able to get the shell/command prompt. :mad:
     
  4. rone

    rone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. sameerkumar15

    sameerkumar15 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ron, Thanks a ton... I am able to connect and got SSH using putty. :) Your suggestion is worth to me !

    Thanks again.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. rone

    rone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How could I forget this option :eek: but I don't think it is the tool for beginners. Correct me if I am wrong.
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It's no more dangerous than using the root shell via SSH ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice