The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Give More Power to WHM?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BrianMI, May 20, 2009.

  1. BrianMI

    BrianMI Registered

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    A few months ago I signed up for a reseller hosting package, not really to resell hosting, but to more effectively manage my own websites.

    One thing that has been frustrating me though is that I can access the cPanel of any any of my sites from the main WHM admin screen, but when I try to perform cPanel functions (creating email accounts, ftp accounts, etc) it gives me an error message saying that I have to be logged into that perticular cPanel account for that site and NOT by the pass-through WHM access.

    This is very frustrating as I have trouble remembering all the different logins for the various sites' cPanels. I tried using the same username for every site, but that was prevented by WHM.

    Anyone know how I can grant more power to my WHM account so it's no restricted when interacting with cPanel?
     
  2. rsong

    rsong Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You can go to Tweak Settings and uncheck the following option:

    Disable login with root or reseller password into the users' cPanel interface

    and click Save.

    Tommy
     
  3. rsong

    rsong Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    On a second thought, it is better if you access cPanel page as the user rather than a reseller or root.
    If you fully manage the sites, it is not that hard to reset the password for each account.

    I might have misread your original post :) .


    Tommy
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you confirm you are experiencing this for creating email accounts and FTP accounts and not with database-related functionality such as database backups, creating database uses or using phpMyAdmin? I know this message appears for database-related functionality but I've never encountered this for email and FTP account creation.

    For database related functionality you must login as the actual user (not as the reseller user). Alternative, if you know how, you could create a my.cnf file in that user's home directory containing their username and password.

    You cannot use 1 username for more than 1 cPanel account. By default, cPanel will use the first 8 characters of the domain name as the username, you may want to consider using that for your usernames. As for passwords, just make sure it's not the same as your reseller password.
     
  5. BrianMI

    BrianMI Registered

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I went back in to check on this and found that creating emails and such was fine. I got the error when I tried to use Fantastico to install a copy of Wordpress. So I guess it becomes and issue becuase it's a database-related action.

    I guess I'll need to login to the cpanel of each domain itself for some things. As a workaround to make it easier, I've installed a copy of Roboform and that's worked well for organizing my logins and such so I don't have to memorize them.
     
  6. Bailey

    Bailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    *nods* A good password manager is a "must" for anybody running/managing multiple sites.

    It's just plain-old BAD security to have your sites accessible through the same password. I cannot possibly over-emphasize this. A hacker, kiddie, competitor, or disgruntled friend/partner will only need ONE LOGIN to completely decimate all of your work. It's happened a gazillion times already, this is not a new or original trick. It's the first thing people think of. Do not set yourself up for failure this way!!

    Use a different password for everything. Make them long, random and not remember-able. Use caps, body letters, numbers AND symbols.

    Pick up a good, SECURE password manager that gets installed on your PC. (I realize "secure" and "PC" are oxymorons -- you're going to have to really do your homework here. There is malware, spyware, keyloggers, and all kinds of crap exploiting new supposedly "protected" PCs every day.)

    Better yet, use a Mac.

    And PassPack.

    But no, you shouldn't be able to do some high-level things using a reseller override, including Fantastico and database stuff. Security exists for a reason. Use it to your advantage -- it's protecting your stuff.

    :D Bailey
     
Loading...

Share This Page